DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Auto start database

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Posts
    387

    Lightbulb Auto start database in HP-UX

    Hi,

    I have wrote a auto startup database script which does work in Sun Solaris server before for Oracle 815. I am using the same script to auto start Oracle 815 on HP-UX and it doesn't work!

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ORA_HOME=/oracle/app/oracle/product/8.1.5
    ORA_OWNER=oracle

    echo "Test if dbstart exist"
    if [ ! -f $ORA_HOME/bin/dbstart ]
    then
    echo "Oracle startup: cannot start"
    exit
    else
    echo "dbstart exist"
    fi

    echo "$1"

    case "$1" in
    'start')
    ........login as oracle and exe dbstart......... same codes as oracle manual

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------

    When I execute the script manually, echo $1 has no parameter, may i know where is this parameter being pass in during the reboot of server? I have manually execute dbstart and it works too.... what could be the problem for this script?

    I have soft link the file from /sbin/init.d to /sbin/rc2.d already.

    Thanks!

    [Edited by mooks on 01-18-2001 at 07:08 AM]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    Check system init paths are same for Solaris and HP. Iam not sure.

    I wish to test, sorry ! I do have all boxes except HP box. Someone try and give you feed back atleast on their test box.

    [Edited by sreddy on 01-22-2001 at 12:14 AM]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    make sure that the oratab files are set correctly "Y" and then, if I could recall, I think there should be two softlinks, check the installation manual.

    make sure that you have used the double quotes in the argument

    su -$ORA_OWNER -c "$ORACLE_HOME/bin/dbstart" &

    Good luck,
    Sam

    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    194
    You may have to call your script with "start" or "stop" option.

    Usually the Startup/Shutdown of the machine calls the script with these options.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Posts
    387

    Cool

    Hi,

    I have done all that have been mentioned, but it still doesn't work for HP-UX. I think it might be a bug. Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    234

    Oracle start at reboot

    Hi Mooks,

    Can you tell me what is in /etc/oratab?


    Greetings

    tycho

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Posts
    387
    Hi,

    Sorry for the laste reply. I have set Y for my Oracle SID already. I do not think that is cauing the problem... Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width