Restore RMAN backup to different machine.
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Restore RMAN backup to different machine.

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    5

    Restore RMAN backup to different machine.

    Hi,

    I am having issue restoring Oracle 9i RMAN backup to completely different machine.

    these are the steps I have done.

    1. I have RMAN backups on the new backup folder on the new machine.

    2.Restored the SPFile for backup.

    3. Created DatabaseService and password file.

    4.restored the control file

    5.Started and mounted the instance via RMAN

    I have followed the steps exactly mentioned on http://www.orafusion.com/art_rman3.htm

    However after mounting the instance I cannot restore the database.

    The reason is RMAN tried to restore from the original backup location which is

    CONFIGURE CHANNEL DEVICE TYPE DISK FORMAT 'M:\OracleBackup\......

    It doesn't let me change the location as the controlfile is backup control file.

    How do I change location so that it will point to the new folder where I have copied the backups.

    In 10g there is RMAN command to CATALOG backuppiece but it is not possible to change in Oracle 9i.

    Does anyone have any idea ?

    Many thanks,

    Vasant

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,471

    Cool Symbolic link?

    How do I change location so that it will point to the new folder where I have copied the backups.
    Create a symbolic link.
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Pune,Maharashtra. India.
    Posts
    245
    check the link...

    http://www.sc.ehu.es/siwebso/KZCC/Or...ov.htm#1009919

    Section "Restoring the Database to a New Host "
    Rgds
    Parag

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,471

    Talking No way Ho-sey

    Quote Originally Posted by paragp1981 View Post
    check the link...

    http://www.sc.ehu.es/siwebso/KZCC/Or...ov.htm#1009919

    Section "Restoring the Database to a New Host "
    With version 9i you cannot re-catalog the backups.

    Do this:

    1) Share the location of the new backups directory as name "OracleBackup".
    2) In WinDoze explorer: Tools> Map Network Drive, choose drive 'M:' and add the 'shared' directory.
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    5
    Thanks for all your reply.

    I know about the sharing drive on the new server , however the whole point for asking is is there any other way of changing the backup location ?

    Why I came across this issue is the drive mentioned in RMAN backup is already used for one of the application and cannot be unmapped.
    So what could be another alternative ?

    In Oracle 9i RMAN doesn't seem to have option of changing backup location while restoring. E.g like SQL Server lets you restore database regardless of backup location.

    Thanks,
    Vasant

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,471

    Wink Sys.dbms_backup_restore

    The SYS.DBMS_BACKUP_RESTORE package can be used to do the restore, but you will need to open a service request with Oracle to get the instructions on how to use it (there is no 'public' documentation available).
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    5
    Hello LKBrwn_DBA,

    I tried restring RMAN database by sharing drive as well however RMAN doesn't identify the backup file which is very stange !!

    The original backup location was 'M:\OracleBackup\

    I shared the drive on the network and mapped it on the database server under M: so path of backup looks exactly same 'M:\OracleBackup\

    How ever RMAN throws following

    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-03002: failure of restore command at 02/13/2009 15:05:14
    ORA-19505: failed to identify file "M:\OracleBackup\DBCOM\DBCOM_948_20090212"
    ORA-27041: unable to open file
    OSD-04002: unable to open file
    O/S-Error: (OS 3) The system cannot find the path specified.


    It seems that RMAN stored some sort of identification number so with the same path elsewhere it doesn't let me restore.

    Any more ideas ?

    Many thanks,
    Vasant

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1

    Restore RMAN backup to different machine

    Vasant,

    I know this post is many years old, but did you find a solution to this restore problem that says unable to open file ? I am running into the same problem and wondered if you ever found out. I am trying to restore my RMAN backup from production server(9i) to a test server(9i). I was able to do all the steps upto restoring the database. It's exactly like you mentioned in your post. RMAN does not find the new back up. Let me know please.

    Thanks,
    Sasi

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    3,999
    I dynamically generate this:

    Code:
    run {
    set newname for datafile 1 to '/oracle/oradata/db_name/system01.dbf';
    set newname for datafile 2 to '/oracle/oradata/db_name/undo01.dbf';
    set newname for datafile 3 to '/oracle/oradata/db_name/sysaux01.dbf';
    set newname for datafile 4 to '/oracle/oradata/db_name/data.dbf';
    set newname for datafile 5 to '/oracle/oradata/db_name/users01.dbf';
    set newname for datafile 6 to '/oracle/oradata/db_name/indx01.dbf';
    set newname for tempfile 1 to '/oracle/oradata/db_name/temp01.dbf';
    duplicate target database to tmstr logfile
     group 1 ('/oracle/oradata/db_name/redo01a.log','/oracle/oradata/db_name/redo01b.log') size 52428800 reuse
    ,group 2 ('/oracle/oradata/db_name/redo02a.log','/oracle/oradata/db_name/redo02b.log') size 52428800 reuse
    ,group 3 ('/oracle/oradata/db_name/redo03a.log','/oracle/oradata/db_name/redo03b.log') size 52428800 reuse;
    }
    But you don't need to do all of that, you can also do this:

    Code:
    duplicate target database to dupdb
    from active database spfile
    parameter_value_convert 'sourcedb','dupdb'
    set sga_max_size=800M
    set sga_target=700M
    set log_file_name_convert= 'sourcedb','dupdb',
    db_file_name_convert 'sourcedb','dupdb';
    The second example might be 11g only. Also I typed in the commands
    and may have made mistakes. So you will need to test everything.
    this space intentionally left blank

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width