DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Duplicating a database

Question

The problem is that I am new to the field of ORACLE administration. I have an existing database with certain characteristics that I need to duplicate to be able to use ALL of its structure. The idea that I have to do it is to create a database and then do an IMPORT of the existing one but I really don't know if that would be enough.

PLEASE I need any help I can get. Thank you for your time.

Yes !

That would be enough . You can create a new database and create the same users as the existing database and then take an export from the existing one and import it in this. This should sought out your problem of duplicating the databases.

Thanx Puneet!

I'll try that then. One more thing though, would I have to create similar control files and log files and data files, or would that be included in the export? And do you know anything about the table spaces? are they included too?

Thanks again, I really appreciate your help.

Follow this link which talks about the general steps for exp/imp

[url]http://www.dbasupport.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=5221[/url]

Hi,
    I think the ideal solution, incase if you mean that U want to copy the entire database including the name sid etc, then it's better for you to just shutdown the database and copy all the control files, data files and the log files to another machine with the same location specified in the existing one. This way the copying becomes very very easy and acquires less time.

Rgds
    Ganesh .R
    A Winner never Quits, A Quitter never Wins
    Ganesh .R

Question difference between v$version and sm$version

[QUOTE][i]Originally posted by aarganesh [/i]
    [B]Hi,