TNS-03505: Failed to resolve name, ORA-12545: Connect failed because target host or
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: TNS-03505: Failed to resolve name, ORA-12545: Connect failed because target host or

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    95

    Exclamation TNS-03505: Failed to resolve name, ORA-12545: Connect failed because target host or

    Hi,

    Please help me out to solve TNS problem in the client machine.

    We have 2 instance Oracle RAC db on AIX 5L. When we are trying to tnsping its throught out the error, see below
    C:\Documents and Settings\muzammil>tnsping ARIEPDB_RAC

    TNS Ping Utility for 32-bit Windows: Version 10.2.0.3.0 - Production on 14-OCT-2
    008 15:51:37

    Copyright (c) 1997, 2006, Oracle. All rights reserved.

    Used parameter files:
    D:\oracle\product\10.2.0\client_1\network\admin\sqlnet.ora

    TNS-03505: Failed to resolve name

    TNSNAMES.ORA
    ARIEPDB_RAC =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 10.53.50.13)(PORT = 1521))
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 10.53.50.14)(PORT = 1521))
    (LOAD_BALANCE = yes)
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (DATABASE_NAME = ariepdb)
    (SERVER = DEDICATED)
    (SERVICE_NAME = ariepdb_rac.world.com)
    (FAILOVER_MODE =
    (TYPE = SELECT)
    (METHOD = BASIC)
    (RETRIES = 180)
    (DELAY = 5)
    )
    )
    )

    Thanks in advance.

    Regards,
    dba

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Do you have ORACLE_HOME and ORACLE_SID properly set in the client station?

    Does that exactly TNSNAMES.ora file works when connecting from other client stations?
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6
    Please show us output of
    type sqlnet.ora

    type tnsnames.ora

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    95

    Exclamation

    Please see the output.

    C:\Documents and Settings\muzammil>type sqlnet.ora
    The system cannot find the file specified.

    C:\Documents and Settings\muzammil>
    C:\Documents and Settings\muzammil>
    C:\Documents and Settings\muzammil>sqlnet.ora
    'sqlnet.ora' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\muzammil>
    C:\Documents and Settings\muzammil>tnsnames.ora
    'tnsnames.ora' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\muzammil>
    C:\Documents and Settings\muzammil>
    C:\Documents and Settings\muzammil>type tnsnames.ora
    The system cannot find the file specified.

    Regards,
    dba

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Please set your ORACLE_HOME and ORACLE_SID properly
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Quote Originally Posted by PAVB
    Please set your ORACLE_HOME and ORACLE_SID properly
    Hmm my advise would be please HIRE a oracle DBA.

    regards
    Hrishy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by hrishy
    Hmm my advise would be please HIRE a oracle DBA.

    regards
    Hrishy
    Just because poster attempted to "run" tnsnames.ora? wasn't that cute?
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    95

    Exclamation

    Dear all,

    I have add new clinet ORACLE_HOME & prod db ORACLE_SID in the client machine, but still same error.

    Please help me out.

    Regards,

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    95

    Exclamation

    Dear all,

    my db is on Oracle 10g RAC. plz. see following SID's.

    ORACLE_SID=arpdb1 (Node1)
    ORACLE_SID=arpdb2 (Node2)

    db_name=aripdb

    please help, hw to set both SID in same invironment.

    Best Regards,

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    95

    Exclamation

    Dear all,

    my db is on Oracle 10g RAC. plz. see following SID's.

    ORACLE_SID=arpdb1 (Node1)
    ORACLE_SID=arpdb2 (Node2)

    db_name=aripdb

    please help, hw to set both SID in same invironment.

    Best Regards,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width