Oracle crashes
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Oracle crashes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343

    Hi all,

    I am having a serious problem here.
    My database was working fine all these days, but recently, it has started crashing a lot. If I run more than 5 queries continously, the database crashes & then I need to restart it.

    I have never come across such a scene before.
    Does any one know what could be reason for this?

    I am using Oracle 8.1.6 on solaris - evaluation copy.

    Shiva.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    417
    What does it say in the alert log when it crashes?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343

    My Alert log says :

    Can not allocate log, archival required
    Tue Jan 16 11:46:09 2001
    ARCH: Connecting to console port...
    Thread 1 cannot allocate new log, sequence 3473
    All online logs needed archiving
    Current log# 1 seq# 3472 mem# 0: /oracle8/dbms/oradata/perseus/redo01.log

    Does this mean that something is wrong with my RedoLOG files??

    Shiva

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    The redo log files are too small. Drop and recreate them with a larger size.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    384
    check whether you have disk space where you have archive log detination or shutdown the database and turn into noarchive log
    Radhakrishnan.M

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    384
    Pls issue

    alter system checkpoint

    shutdown immediate

    startup mount

    alter database noarchivelog ;
    Radhakrishnan.M

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    417
    If you're running in archive log mode, have you set "log_archive_start = true" in your init.ora so it archives them automatically?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    384
    the alert log says that he is unable to do the archving...

    It just should be that he does not enough space for redo log files to be archived .That is the reason i am asking him to clear the archive log file..check the space in the disk where the archive log dest is there ...

    turn to noarchive log ...

    since he is not backing the database....(I don't think he is doing)
    Radhakrishnan.M

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    417
    Well it says "All online logs need archiving". If he has archiving turned on, but not automatic archiving, and he didn't manually archive them, wouldn't it give a message that said that the logs required archival since he didn't do it?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343
    Hi all,

    Thanks for the responses.
    I checked my init.ora file & it says "log_archive_start = false".

    Do I need to do it manually, or can I just open my DB in noarchive mode?

    Shiva.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width