ALTER SYSTEM SET job_queue_processes=0
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ALTER SYSTEM SET job_queue_processes=0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865

    ALTER SYSTEM SET job_queue_processes=0

    Hi-

    I am using 9.2.0.7 standard edition for primary as well as standby databases. Every time when I complete the recovery and start the standby DB I have observed something different in the alert log. Here is some part from my alert log.

    ARCH: STARTING ARCH PROCESSES COMPLETE
    Wed Sep 24 13:13:52 2008
    ARC1: Archival started
    Wed Sep 24 13:13:52 2008
    ARC0: Becoming the 'no FAL' ARCH
    Wed Sep 24 13:13:52 2008
    ARC1: Becoming the heartbeat ARCH
    Wed Sep 24 13:13:52 2008
    ARC0: Becoming the 'no FAL' ARCHARC0: Thread not mounted
    Wed Sep 24 13:13:52 2008
    ARC1: Becoming the heartbeat ARCHARC1: Thread not mounted
    Wed Sep 24 13:13:52 2008
    Oracle Data Guard is not available in this edition of Oracle.
    Wed Sep 24 13:14:04 2008
    ALTER SYSTEM SET job_queue_processes=0 SCOPE=MEMORY;Wed Sep 24 13:14:04 2008
    alter database open read only
    Wed Sep 24 13:14:04 2008
    ORA-1507 signalled during: alter database open read only...
    Wed Sep 24 13:14:05 2008
    alter database mount standby database
    Wed Sep 24 13:14:11 2008
    Successful mount of redo thread 1, with mount id 1768704351
    Wed Sep 24 13:14:11 2008
    Standby Database mounted.
    Completed: alter database mount standby database
    Wed Sep 24 13:14:17 2008
    alter database open read only
    Wed Sep 24 13:14:17 2008
    Any one have idea why the Oracle signeling ALTER SYSTEM SET job_queue_process .... command and try to open the database even before I mount the standby database? Any help much appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    may be this is a clue...

    Code:
    Wed Sep 24 13:13:52 2008
    Oracle Data Guard is not available in this edition of Oracle.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    Hi PAVB-

    I am aware of that. It's not managed standby. I manually recover the standby once in every day and put it in read only for users.

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    FYI - This is NOT one time issue. It is keep on repeating for every minute.

    Wed Sep 24 13:10:07 2008
    ALTER SYSTEM SET job_queue_processes=0 SCOPE=MEMORY;
    Wed Sep 24 13:10:07 2008
    alter database open read only
    Wed Sep 24 13:10:07 2008
    ORA-1154 signalled during: alter database open read only...
    Wed Sep 24 13:11:06 2008
    ALTER SYSTEM SET job_queue_processes=0 SCOPE=MEMORY;
    Wed Sep 24 13:11:06 2008
    alter database open read only
    ORA-1154 signalled during: alter database open read only...
    Wed Sep 24 13:12:07 2008
    ALTER SYSTEM SET job_queue_processes=0 SCOPE=MEMORY;
    Wed Sep 24 13:12:07 2008
    alter database open read only
    ORA-1154 signalled during: alter database open read only...
    Wed Sep 24 13:13:05 2008
    ALTER SYSTEM SET job_queue_processes=0 SCOPE=MEMORY;
    Wed Sep 24 13:13:05 2008
    alter database open read only
    Wed Sep 24 13:13:05 2008
    ORA-1154 signalled during: alter database open read only...
    Wed Sep 24 13:13:28 2008
    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cyberjaya,kuala lumpur
    Posts
    340
    Quote Originally Posted by vnktummala
    Hi PAVB-

    It's not managed standby. I manually recover the standby once in every day and put it in read only for users.

    Thanks,
    is it a scheduled job? or every day you will do it manually?
    sorry why i asked is if you made some script for doing that job and by mistake it is scheduled for every minute in the place of every day...it will happen or not?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    well, it's a shell script which actually runs for every 30 minutes between 2am - 4am every day. In case if the business need refresh we will kick off the same script manually (that's what i did today).

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width