Load balancing
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Load balancing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    31

    Load balancing

    Hi,

    Is it possible to do any kind of Load balancing in Single instance ?

    What is the importance of service_names in single instance.

    thx
    sunil

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    load balancing of what?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    31
    Load balancing of workload to the instance.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    load balancing of workload in a single instance? nice!
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    335
    You can limit resources available to the particular app which connects to single instance database. However it is not a load balancing.
    One, who thinks that the other one who thinks that know and does not know, does not know either!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,015
    Well Arlo Gurthrie sang in four part harmony in the song Alice's Restaurant.

    If you only have one node you are limited in what you can do for node balancing. One option would be to have two or more network cards, each with a different fixed IP address connected to a different router/switch. You would then configure the listener to listen on all of the ip addresses, and the clients to be aware of those IP addresses and to do a round robbin style selection on which one to use when making a connection. So if someone drops a coke on a single router/switch, or kicks out a cord then people could reconnect with a different IP address on a different router/switch. But I'm guessing that this won't be terribly useful.

    But if you really want load balancing you are talking about setting up a RAC database, which is not a simple process. If you want redundancy, then you can either do RAC or a standby database. Both of the above options require more than one server. And RAC requires storage that is accessable from each node. It just depends on what you need and can pay for.
    this space intentionally left blank

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    31
    Thanx all.

    But if am using MTS, is it possible to route the connections to least loaded dispatcher using the Services ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    MTS dispatchers do not actually process user's requests, dispatcher is just the front-end guy.

    At the time a dispatcher gets a request it just puts a virtual circuit in the queue and waits for a shared server to service it.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width