Redo log
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Redo log

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    24

    Angry

    Hi All

    I am getting a message on my oracle server. Redo log Oracle Instance met -can not allocate log ,archiveal required.
    How do I archive the redo lof files.


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    205
    Are you running in archivelog mode?

    you can check by typing in:

    archive log list; (svrmgrl)

    and is automatic archiving set:

    archive log start; (svrmgrl as well)

    Good Luck
    Nirasha

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    24
    Yes I am running in archivelog mode, how do I set automatic archiving

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    449
    did you uncomment the 3 parameters in the init.ora related to the archiving.. if you did that after you made it archive did you bounce the db.. ??
    Thx..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    24
    Yes , below is a extract out of the inti.ora file

    ##### For archiving if ARCHIVELOG is on ########
    LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST =D:\orant\database\archive
    LOG_ARCHIVE_FORMAT =arc%S.%T
    LOG_ARCHIVE_BUFFERS =4
    LOG_ARCHIVE_BUFFER_SIZE =127

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    417
    you also need

    log_archive_start = true

    for automatic archiving.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    The error 'cannot allocate new log, archival required' suggests that your redo log files are small in size. You will tend to see this during a bulk insert/delete or during an import. Increase the size of the redo log files.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width