How to find the catalog database name
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to find the catalog database name

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865

    Smile How to find the catalog database name

    Hi:

    I have multiple catalog databases in the environment. From a given target database how to find in which catalog it is registered? Is there is any V$ or DBA_ view available?

    Thanks,
    -Vijay
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    110
    what catalog are you referring to? RMAN?.
    Looking for the greatest evil in the world? Look in the mirror.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    Sorry, I should have be more clear.

    Yes, I am refering the RMAN Catalog.

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    110
    If don't of any command that would give you the databases in the catalog. but if I want want to see if database ABB is in the catalog
    -connect to the catalog from database/sid ABB.
    -give a command
    - list backups or crosscheck backups or list incarnation etc etc.
    -Now if the database is not registered RMAN would return error - database not registered in catalog...
    Looking for the greatest evil in the world? Look in the mirror.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    Yes, once we connect to RMAN catalog there are lot many way to investigate. But, I am trying to find is there any view available on the target database. I have tried in many places including metalink but could not find any thing and finally landed at my favourate forum.

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    One way i cna think of is when you do
    rman TARGET / CATALOG rman/cat@catdb

    the catdb entry should be there in the tnsnames.ora file on the target db server.

    regards
    Hrishy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    335
    TABLE DB in recovery catalog schema has a dbid which would match to your database id.
    One, who thinks that the other one who thinks that know and does not know, does not know either!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width