Restoring a 1-year-old backup
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Restoring a 1-year-old backup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4

    Question Restoring a 1-year-old backup

    Hi folks,

    I hope you can help me. My situation is as follows:

    1. I have some year-old files that I'd like to restore. It's a full backup generated with RMAN. I have the control file and the BAKs, as well

    2. It has to be restored away from the production database. I created another instance in a separate box for that.

    3. The RMAN catalog is no longer available.

    My questions are:

    Since I have a new instance and can change the DBID, can I instruct RMAN to use the old controlfile I restored and show me the backup list?

    One more thing: the backup was originally generated on the F:\ drive, while the new Oracle instance has the backup files on D:. Will that be an issue?

    I managed to restore the controlfile, but when I run RESTORE DATABASE, it says that some tablespaces are missing (SYSTEM being one of them). When I ask for a list of what's backed up, it is there. What is that?

    Also, even when using SET NEWNAME or CONFIG AUXNAME, the restore still tries to write on the OLD folder.

    Thanks in advance for any help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    version?
    commands run?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4
    Hi Davey,

    Thank you for the reply.

    I'm running Oracle 10g R1.

    I successfully ran the following commands:

    {
    Catalog (I added the backup files)
    SET NEWNAME
    SWTCH DATAFILE ALL
    Restore Database
    }

    Now I'm getting an error in the recovery process, it says that I have an invalid media. I tried to blow the Redo Logs and rename them to the new location. I don't care about a full recovery, I don't really need to apply archived logs or anything. If I could simply open the database right after the tablespaces have been restored, that would be great!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,477

    Thumbs down Crystal balls not working

    Our crystal balls are not working today, therefore we cannot "guess" what is your problem.

    You need to post specific:

    1) Syntax for script you are executing.
    2) Full list of errors you get.

    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4
    The restore went well, as I mentioned.

    When I execute a RECOVER DATABASE, this is what I get:

    starting media recovery
    media recovery failed
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-03002: failure of recover command at 08/01/2008 10:23:41
    RMAN-11003: failure during parse/execution of SQL statement: alter database recover if needed
    start until cancel using backup controlfile
    ORA-01153: an incompatible media recovery is active

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,477

    Question Another session?

    Sure you don't have another session executing?
    Code:
    ORA-01153: an incompatible media recovery is active 
    
    Cause: Attempted to start an incompatible media recovery or open resetlogs
           during media recovery or RMAN backup . Media recovery sessions are
           incompatible if they attempt to recover the same data file. 
           Incomplete media recovery or open resetlogs is incompatible with any
           media recovery. Backup or restore by RMAN is incompatible with open 
           resetlogs 
    
    Action: Complete or cancel the other media recovery session or RMAN backup
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4
    I'd like to thank you guys for all of your help and let you know that I successfully restored the database.

    I ran into a couple of problems, one of them being a bug in Rman 10.1.0, once I installed RMAN 10.2.0 and upgraded the database after restoring it, things are now working smoothly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width