Installation hangs
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Installation hangs

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cyberjaya,kuala lumpur
    Posts
    339

    Installation hangs

    Oracle9i installation hangs at 17%.Can anybody share some ideas why it is hanging how we can overcome that.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    3,999
    Did you look at the install log to see what happened? Did you go through the before you install guide and check all of the prerequisites? What hardware and OS are you installing on?
    this space intentionally left blank

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cyberjaya,kuala lumpur
    Posts
    339
    All the pre Installation task is done,
    And the OS is linux RHEL3,
    dont know about the hardware,becaue i am remotly accessing the server.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cyberjaya,kuala lumpur
    Posts
    339
    And in the install log nothing is dispaying !

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    3,999
    Quote Originally Posted by gopu_g
    dont know about the hardware,becaue i am remotly accessing the server.
    Aha...Is your ssh session timing out?
    What about doing a silent install with a nohup and a &?
    this space intentionally left blank

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    have you followed ALL the pre-requisites as layed down by Oracle?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cyberjaya,kuala lumpur
    Posts
    339
    Quote Originally Posted by gandolf989
    Aha...Is your ssh session timing out?
    What about doing a silent install with a nohup and a &?
    No, the ssh is not timinng out...the session is there
    The installation is hang, when it reaches the 17%... not moving from there.. i waited for a long time....i can cancell the installation
    I have one doubt, i searched in the google and got information like i need to increase the swap space.. but i have sufficient space,4GB

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cyberjaya,kuala lumpur
    Posts
    339
    Quote Originally Posted by davey23uk
    have you followed ALL the pre-requisites as layed down by Oracle?


    ya , went through the oracle document and done all the pre-requisites

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    doubt it as you are having problems

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cyberjaya,kuala lumpur
    Posts
    339
    I will check it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width