RMAN nocatalog - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: RMAN nocatalog

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    Quote Originally Posted by hrishy
    Hi

    The trick is to know the dbid and restore the controlfile from your tape backups
    It's not a trick - its a fully documented, fully supported method of recovery

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Quote Originally Posted by davey23uk
    It's not a trick - its a fully documented, fully supported method of recovery
    ahh the english language :-)

    regards
    Hrishy

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    335
    Quote Originally Posted by hrishy
    Hi

    The trick is to know the dbid and restore the controlfile from your tape backups

    Code:
    rman target /
    set dbid 
    startup nomount;
    run
    {
    allocate channel ch1sbt_tape type sbt;
    set controlfile autobackup format for device type sbt to
    'path_to_controlfile/%F'; 
    restore controlfile from autobackup;
    release channel ch1_tape;
    }
    You need to store the dbid somewhere otherwise i am afraid you are lost.

    regards
    Hrishy
    Just curios,assuming that sbt channel is just a tape deivce and not a tape management system, how would rman know which file to request base on just a dbid? It got to be stored somewhere, but where?
    One, who thinks that the other one who thinks that know and does not know, does not know either!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    335
    I think I may know an answer for my own question. RMAN probably generate an unique backup control file name based on dbid and therefore if it knows dbid it can generate this name and request backup file from the tape.
    One, who thinks that the other one who thinks that know and does not know, does not know either!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    377
    Regardless if AUTOBACKUP is set to ON or not, if you are doing a full database backup, the controlfile is going to be backed up.

    Now assuming you are in nocatalog mode and simply loose the backed up controlfile, you can still recover from a backup with the help of the DBMS_BACKUP_RESTORE package.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8
    Right. There was one unpublised document available in metalink. Get hold of support they can help you out on this.

    Regards,
    Satheesh Babu S
    http://satheeshbabus.blogspot.com

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    We usually put the rman logfile along with the backup to the tape.
    In the logfile look for something like
    Code:
    copying current controlfile
    output filename=/backup/SID_xxx_.back
    You can just copy the controlfile to the location in the place as indicated by init.ora and try to bring up the database to mountstate.

    If you are on 10g you can also
    Code:
    set DBID=<>
    run 
    {
    allocate channel cht_t1 device type sbt tape;
    restore controlfile
    from 
    '/backup/SID_xxx_.back'
    }

    regards
    Hrishy

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    114
    Quote Originally Posted by ebrian
    Regardless if AUTOBACKUP is set to ON or not, if you are doing a full database backup, the controlfile is going to be backed up.

    Now assuming you are in nocatalog mode and simply loose the backed up controlfile, you can still recover from a backup with the help of the DBMS_BACKUP_RESTORE package.
    Hi Ebrian,

    I think your note is the most REMARKABLE here
    So, am I justified if I continue my backup system with nocatalog mode?
    Would it make be still a good DBA?


    Thanks a lot
    Last edited by reeshe; 07-30-2008 at 10:13 PM.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    335
    It is actually up to you, I see no reason not to use a catalog even alternative ways to restore your database do exist.
    Let me ask you a question, why not to use it? What are you trying to save?
    One, who thinks that the other one who thinks that know and does not know, does not know either!

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8
    Hi,
    If number of DB to be backed up is more in your shop, then it make sense to use Catalog DB. Otherwise use nocatalog.

    Regards,
    Satheesh Babu S
    http://satheeshbabus.blogspot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width