backup from a physical standby database
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: backup from a physical standby database

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Congleton
    Posts
    258

    backup from a physical standby database

    Hi, I know you can run backups (RMAN or HOT Backups) from a physical standby database to relieve performance on the primary database, but what are the cons for doing this? Is the recovery of datafiles/database from physical standby backups simple to do? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,460

    Talking

    You may "miss" some archive logs from the primary.
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    No cons.
    Yes, it is.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    45

    No cons

    There are no cons for taking a backup and also it relieves the workload on the primary database.Coming to the second question ,Yes it is easy to recover from the secondary database though u might loose some redo files. this aso depends on what configuration one is using to take backup from the primary to the secondary.....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by chaitanyagoa
    There are no cons for taking a backup and also it relieves the workload on the primary database.Coming to the second question ,Yes it is easy to recover from the secondary database though u might loose some redo files. this aso depends on what configuration one is using to take backup from the primary to the secondary.....
    Okay… it is clear you are good in refrying whatever other people has already said in the same thread; we all are looking forward to see how you add some value on your next post.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    Quote Originally Posted by chaitanyagoa
    There are no cons for taking a backup and also it relieves the workload on the primary database.Coming to the second question ,Yes it is easy to recover from the secondary database though u might loose some redo files. this aso depends on what configuration one is using to take backup from the primary to the secondary.....
    any reason to just repeat what others have said already?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    45

    sorry guys

    i jus typed what i knew......

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    AFAIK you need to run RMAN in catalog mode in 10g to do that and also the control file needs to be backed up from primary.(if i am not wrong)

    I am not sure if that changes in 11g.

    and also in 10g you cannot make use of Change file tracking on standby database but in 11g yes .

    regards
    Hrishy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width