Cold Backup ERROR ORA-01113
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Cold Backup ERROR ORA-01113

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681

    Cold Backup ERROR ORA-01113

    Hi Friends,

    Oracle 10g R2 DB

    I have taken a cold backup pf my database.
    I shutdown the db, and copy all the datafile,logfile,controlfile to /u01/BACKUP_DB.

    Then I tried to test my backup by pointing all the dbfs to /u01/BACKUP_DB.
    startup mount
    alter database rename file ... to ...;
    alter database open;
    ORA-01113: file 1 needs media recovery
    ORA-01110: data file 1 '/u01/BACKUP_DB/system01.dbf'

    Where did I go wrong? :(
    I am sure I shutdown the database.


    Thanks a lot
    Behind The Success And Failure Of A Man Is A Woman

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,480

    Talking

    What about the redo logs?
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    why do you mean redo log dear?
    logfiles or v$logfile are the redo logs right
    Behind The Success And Failure Of A Man Is A Woman

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,480

    Cool

    Yes, the logfiles.
    When you start the db it will allways check and try to recover (if needed).

    Maybe if you open mount and issue 'recover database' it may work.

    The better way to backup a database is with RMAN, you do not need to be concerned if you missed or not any files.
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by yxez
    Where did I go wrong? :(
    You are actually cloning your database so...
    1. You do not do alter database rename file...
    2. You do alter your control file to point to the new location of the files...
    3. You do alter your control file to do...
    STARTUP NOMOUNT
    CREATE CONTROLFILE REUSE SET DATABASE "your-new-db-name" RESETLOGS ARCHIVELOG
    / / /
    4. You do
    RECOVER DATABASE USING BACKUP CONTROLFILE until cancel
    ... and type cancel
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    Hi Pavb,

    U confused me, why do I need to recover the database when I have I complete set of cold backup? it was shutdown when I back it up?

    I have copied datafiles,logfiles,controlfiles to a new location and my init.ora is pointing to the controlfiles to a new location except that the dbf location is changed so I have to use alter database rename command.

    Is it a wrong step? I also revert back the action back to the existing current state of my database and It was ok.

    Please shed light.


    Thanks
    Last edited by yxez; 04-26-2008 at 03:06 PM.
    Behind The Success And Failure Of A Man Is A Woman

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    your cold backup is not complete

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    Hi Davey , what do you mean not complete? Do you mean that the database was not properly shutdown? Or that I miss some dbf files
    aside from selecting the v$datafile,v$logfile,v$controlfile.
    One thing I saw that was not in the list was the temp.dbf but I read
    that temp do not need to be backup, right?


    Please help I need my old data.


    Thanks
    Behind The Success And Failure Of A Man Is A Woman

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    the database wasnt shutdown properly

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    Thanks, But I am very sure I shut it down.
    I often do this when backing-up up a non 24x7 databases. Because I feel it
    as very safe.
    By the way is there a command to validate if the db is really shutdown?
    Aside from running sqlplus.


    Can I still run "startup mount" > "recover database"
    With this cold backup error? I often read ora-01113 as the most stubborn
    error So I didnt try to recovert it, hoping not to get disappointed

    By the way is there a force recovery parameter to apply in init.ora just to
    open the db?

    Thanks again
    Behind The Success And Failure Of A Man Is A Woman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width