Mount 2nd CD
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Mount 2nd CD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250
    Hi,
    As u know to install the Oracle Database8.1.7 we need 2 CDs. My question is can I unmount the CD and continue mount another CD ? Will this has problem ?

    I have the storage constraint if someone ask me copy every CD into the dard drive. Any other solutions ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    ckwan,

    If you do installation following instructions, it should ask you to mount the CD2 to go further with installation process.
    That time close the current terminal session and eject the CD1 and mount CD2 start installer and it should go from where itd left installation process of CD1 and continue with CD2.




  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250
    Hi,
    I don't think if I close the current session, eject the first CD and continue run the 2nd CD Installer - I don't think this can work as fas as I know the 2nd CD does not have the installer. Any other ideas besides copy to the harddrive ?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    personaly, I didn't install 817.My partner did, I answered your Q after clarifying with him.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    From Metalink:

    CANNOT MOUNT SECOND CD DURING 8.1.7 INSTALLATION
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Versions Affected
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Oracle 8.1.7 Enterprise Edition. However, any product which requires
    multiple CD's to complete installation may encounter the problem.


    Platforms Affected
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    GENERIC - All UNIX platforms


    Description
    ~~~~~~~~~~~

    When installing an Oracle product that requires multiple CDs, it may
    be difficult to unmount the first CD when prompted to mount the second
    or the installer may not recognize the cdrom mount point.


    Likelihood of Occurrence
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    This is very common when multiple CD's are needed for installation


    Possible Symptoms
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    When it is time to mount the second installation CD a message box
    similar to the following appears:

    - -

    Please insert Oracle8i disk 2 into your disk drive or supply
    an alternative location

    Path: /cdrom/oracle8i#1
    <Browse> <OK> <Cancel>
    - -

    Problem #1
    ----------
    "Device busy" messages when attempting to unmount/eject the preceding
    CD of the product set.


    Problem #2 - Affects only platforms which automount the CD
    ----------
    After ejecting the first CD, mounting the second, and selecting 'OK'
    in the dialog box, the dialog box displays again as if the CD was not
    changed.



    Workaround
    ~~~~~~~~~~

    To avoid having to switch between CDs, copy the contents of each CD to the
    hard drive and run the Installer from the new location. Copy the contents of
    each CD in the directory structure as follows:

    Disk1/<Contents of CD #1>

    Disk2/<Contents of CD #2>

    If the contents of each CD are copied into this structure on the hard drive,
    Oracle Universal Installer automatically finds the contents of each CD and
    does not prompt for the location of either CD during the course of
    installation.

    For Problem #1
    --------------

    Return to the session/window where the installer was launched. You may
    not have a prompt even though the installer launches as a background job.
    Press the Return key once or twice to get a prompt. Change directory
    to a location other than the CD mount point, for example 'cd /tmp'.

    You should now be able to 'umount' or 'eject' the CD.

    Explanation:

    A file system cannot be unmounted when it's still in use by a process. Because
    the installer was started in the window in which the current working directory
    was the cdrom mount point, the OS will not release the mount point because it
    thinks you are still accessing the cdrom. The workaround is to make sure your
    current working directory is not the cdrom.
    See note 1016761.6 for more information.

    For Problem #2
    --------------
    When the CD is automounted, it's mount point contains the volume label
    of the CD. For example when CD one is mounted, the mount point may be
    /cdrom/oracle8i#1. When CD two is mounted, the mount point may change
    to /cdrom/oracle8i#2. In this situation it will also be necessary to
    change the CD path when prompted by the installer.

    Use the 'mount' command without any options to display currently
    mounted filesystems. The first column will show the mount point.
    Locate the cdrom mount point and then use this information to correct
    the Path specified in the dialog box. Select OK and the install will
    proceed.

    Explanation:
    When the cdrom is automounted the mount point may not be the same name as when
    the 1st cdrom was mounted. The Oracle installer expects the mount point to
    remain the same as when the 1st cdrom was used. By using the "mount" command
    you can determine the correct mount point and supply it to the installer.

    Patches
    ~~~~~~~

    N/A

    References
    ~~~~~~~~~~


    ______________________________________________________________________________
    Oracle Support Services

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250
    Hi,
    Thanks for the feedback but is this the only way where I need to copy of the CD Contends to hard drive ?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London/Manchester
    Posts
    12
    No, just follow the instructions in the last post about changing out of the CD directory ( ie press return from the window from which you launched the installer several times so that you get a prompt, make sure you're the same user that launched it, for which you may have to exit out through the shells, and change to something like /tmp.) Then you will be able to eject the CD and switch it, and then continue with the installation . I did all of this myself last week.

    Jo.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250
    Thanks, Now I am able to continue next CD without copying the CD Contents.


    Thansk a lot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width