truncate table
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: truncate table

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    16

    truncate table

    I truncate table emp ,
    is this information is written to the logfile?
    can i rollback this on oracle 9i?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    oh boy...
    nope...
    nope.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by PAVB
    oh boy...
    nope...
    nope.

    can i flash back using DBMS_FLASHBACK ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by sinu009
    can i flash back using DBMS_FLASHBACK ?
    Yes you can; providing you have flashback in place.

    Do you have a backup? what's your backup/recovery strategy?
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by PAVB
    Yes you can; providing you have flashback in place.

    Do you have a backup? what's your backup/recovery strategy?

    I have full backup of database

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by sinu009
    I have full backup of database
    That's good news indeed.
    How big is your database?
    Do you have space to restore/recover the database in a secondary location?
    If yes...
    1- Restore/Recover your database in a secondary location
    2- Export emp table from the restored/recovered database
    3- Import imp table into your primary database
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width