does oracle 8i provides column-level security?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: does oracle 8i provides column-level security?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6

    does oracle 8i provides column-level security?

    Hi,
    As I know that oracle 8i vpd can provide row-level security,but I want to use
    oracle 8i's vpd to mask columns.how can i do it?
    thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    why not just create a view not including the columns you want?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by davey23uk
    why not just create a view not including the columns you want?
    Because the columns are available to some users but not to the others,and
    I can't modify the application.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by smartcobra
    Because the columns are available to some users but not to the others,and
    I can't modify the application.
    It looks like you are running out of options, two questions to better picture your situation:
    Is the application fully qualifying table names?
    Is the application accessing tables directly or thru synonyms?
    Last edited by PAVB; 02-17-2008 at 01:20 PM.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by PAVB
    It looks like you are running out of options, two questions to better picture your situation:
    Is the application fully qualifying table names?
    Is the application accessing tables directly or thru synonyms?
    yes the application is fully qualifying table names and accessing tables through synonyms.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Near Indianapolis
    Posts
    9
    As a newbie I should probably stay out of this discussion...but maybe I'll learn something.

    Seems to me if app is fully qualifying table names (ie: table_owner.table_name) then it's not using synonyms. I suppose it could be fully qualifying synonyms (ie: synonym_owner.synonym_name) but that makes little sense.

    If each user of app has own Oracle logon, and if app is NOT qualifying table names, then some users can have synonym pointing to the actual table and other users a synonym pointing to a view or views you have setup which eliminates certain columns. Have I overlooked something?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Nicely done ROPMax.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width