asm_config
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: asm_config

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    158

    asm_config

    Hi DBAs,

    I'm trying to install 10g on an AIX 5.3 server using ASM. After completing the necessary pre-reqs getting my box ready, i'm running the installer to configure ASM; however, when i get to the point where i have to add the asm devices to be used for storage and choose the device path, rather than seeing the complete device path & size, i get a [111] on the location marked device path. Ofcourse i had to cancel the whole process.

    I don't know if anybody's ever come across a situation like this, & if yes, how was it resolve.

    Ur responses will be highly appreciated...

    divroro12

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    click on the ASM Parameters button to specify exactly which directories Oracle should search for candidates for ASM disks

    regards
    Hrishy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    158
    There's nothing here like ASM parameters. The OUI screen shows Configure Automatic Storage Management & below that u have : specify Disk group Characteristics and select disks.
    There's an option to Change disk Discovery Path, which is what i click on to specify where my devices are located...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    What about the ownership and permissions on the raw disks ?

    ownership should be oracle:dba and permissions should be 660 i think

    regards
    Hrishy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    158
    I do think the permissions might be the issue. The ownership looked ok be4 i left my desk. Will keep u posted when i get back on my desk on Monday. I don't have remote access 2 my desktop @ work.

    Thnx & have a nice weekend...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    158
    Well hrishy,

    The permission issue has been taken care of, but i'm still facing the same problem.
    Now, when i select candidate disks after specifying my device path, i see nothing, but when i specify All Disks, i see the device i wanna use, but it's grided & doesn't allow me the possibility of selecting/checking it for use.

    Does that make any sense?

    divroro12

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    158
    hrishy,

    Below are the ownership & permissions to the device...did u succeed in finding out any possible causes why i can't see the device at all when i select Candidate Disks 7 can only see the graded view when i select All Disks?

    crw-rw---- 1 oracle dba 20, 0 Nov 8 11:42 ora_db_hd1_35G

    Regards,

    divroro12

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    Nope i am stumped with your issue :-).

    Did you raise a tar with Oracle Support on this preferably with a screenshot of the situation that you are having.

    regards
    Hrishy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    158
    I'm doing that right now...

    thnx...

    divroro12

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    You can also post the screen shot here.

    And if oracle support guys find a solution let us know the resolution too.

    regards
    Hrishy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width