ORA_12560 when try to startup a db in W2000
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ORA_12560 when try to startup a db in W2000

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    31

    ORA_12560 when try to startup a db in W2000

    Hello all,

    I have a database in W2000 (i no have created the services) when i connect to startup it, i receive the next error:


    C:\Documents and Settings\ctornel>sqlplus /nolog

    SQL*Plus: Release 9.2.0.7.0 - Production on Mar Oct 9 13:09:49 2007

    Copyright (c) 1982, 2002, Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.

    SQL> connect / as sysdba
    ERROR:
    ORA-12560: TNS:error del adaptador de protocolo

    How can i resolve the problem,,,arrrr

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    oerr ORA 12560
    12560, 00000, "TNSrotocol adapter error"
    // *Cause: A generic protocol adapter error occurred.
    // *Action: Check addresses used for proper protocol specification. Before
    // reporting this error, look at the error stack and check for lower level
    // transport errors.For further details, turn on tracing and reexecute the
    // operation. Turn off tracing when the operation is complete.

    Have you set ORACLE_SID?
    Also check Listener.
    Last edited by PAVB; 10-09-2007 at 08:27 AM.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    224
    It is an environment variable ORACLE_SID being not set.

    On the command prompt, type set and see if it is there. Most likely, it is not there. You can do the following:

    cmd> set ORACLE_SID=mySId

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    31
    I have correctly exported the environment variable
    set ORACLE_SID=
    And I receive the same error.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    54
    Start the listener.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    Quote Originally Posted by habeebksa
    Start the listener.
    why, tell us all why starting the listener is going to have any effect on his problem?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    224
    Just want to make sure, did you do the following

    set ORACLE_SID=

    or

    set ORACLE_SID=yourSIDname

    Also, check if you are getting anything in
    1) Oracle's alert.log file.
    2) Operating system log (MyComputer->Manage->Event Viewer->Application or System)

    I am pretty sure you will find something meaningful there.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    31
    No,

    I need to make some tasks:

    1.- I restored the bd from a cold backup,
    2.- The service name no were correctly
    3.- when you finish of restore the database, create the service like:

    oradim -NEW -SID -INTPWD -PFILE

    With that you create the service, and now you can make 2 things:

    a) Start the service that start the database
    b) connect in prompt
    set ORACLE_SID=
    sqlplus /nolog
    connect sys/ as sysdba

    " You are connected to an idle instance"
    startup...........

    And OK, let you have started the DB.

    Thanks for all.
    I wait to be of help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width