DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How to know the database was configure MTS or not?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    21

    How to know the database was configure MTS or not?

    Hi All,

    I'm a new DBA. I want to know my database server have already configure MTS(Multi-Thread Sever) or not? How to Know?

    I met the error : ORA-24777: use of non-migratable database link not allowed => I don't know the reason and how to fixed this error? Please help me.

    Thank in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,334
    look at the tnsnames file, its the client that decides how to connect, not the database

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    well his question was so simple, how do i know if my DB is configured to accept Shared Connections.. the answer would be look at the parameters shared_server and dispatchers..

    its only not the client that decides how to connect.. but the DB as well, as it should be pre-configured to accept shared connections..

    rgds
    abhay
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,334
    well yes, but the db could be set up to use shared server and no client uses it - so the client is more important

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    well it could be other way round as well.. and you end up getting errors while connection..
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,492

    Talking



    Try this SQL*Plus command, if MTS is configured, you get some values else nothing:

    Code:
    SHOW PARAMETER MTS

    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    21
    Thanks for your help.
    I showed parameter and result as below :

    SQL> show parameter mts

    NAME TYPE VALUE
    ------------------------------------ ------- ------------------------------
    mts_circuits integer 0
    mts_dispatchers string
    mts_listener_address string
    mts_max_dispatchers integer 5
    mts_max_servers integer 20
    mts_multiple_listeners boolean FALSE
    mts_servers integer 0
    mts_service string CCBS1
    mts_sessions integer 0

    As it show, value of parameter MTS_DISPATCHERS is blank string. Is my DB configured MTS successfull?

    Thanks in advance.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    You are not

    Regards

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,492

    Talking


    Here is an example of a working MTS config:
    Code:
    mts_circuits         integer 225
    mts_dispatchers      string  (PROTOCOL=TCP)(PRE=oracle.aurora.server.SGiopServer), (protocol=TCP)(disp=1)(con=50)
    mts_listener_address string 
    mts_max_dispatchers  integer 3
    mts_max_servers      integer 6
    mts_multiple_listeners boolean FALSE
    mts_servers          integer 2
    mts_service          string  mydb
    mts_sessions         integer 220

    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width