patch 10.2.0.3
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: patch 10.2.0.3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    46

    patch 10.2.0.3

    How to apply the 10g Release 2 (10.2.0.3) Patch set 2 with a Oracle Home directory like ORACLE_HOME=/u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0.1.0
    and after the patch i want to use a new home directoty to
    ORACLE_HOME=/u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0.3.0

    create a symbolic link ? move 10.2.0.1.0 to 10.2.0.3.0 ?

    Is someone have an idea?
    yt

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    create a new oracle_home and patch it to the level you want

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    You need to create the directory
    /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0.3.0

    tar and copy the software from /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0.1.0 to
    /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0.3.0

    Apply the ne wpatch to 10.2.0.1.0 so now the software is at 10.2.0.3.0.

    Stop the database

    point your oracle home to /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0.3.0

    restart the database

    Did i forget to say read the patchme and first try this methodology on a development environment first :-)

    regards
    Hrishy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    Quote Originally Posted by hrishy
    Hi

    You need to create the directory
    /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0.3.0

    tar and copy the software from /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0.1.0 to
    /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0.3.0

    Apply the ne wpatch to 10.2.0.1.0 so now the software is at 10.2.0.3.0.

    Stop the database

    point your oracle home to /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0.3.0

    restart the database

    Did i forget to say read the patchme and first try this methodology on a development environment first :-)

    regards
    Hrishy
    that isnt going to work as it will mess up the inventory and wontr know about the 10.2.0.3.0 directory

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Quote Originally Posted by hrishy
    Did i forget to say read the patchme and first try this methodology on a development environment first :-)
    stressing hard??
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Quote Originally Posted by davey23uk
    that isnt going to work as it will mess up the inventory and wontr know about the 10.2.0.3.0 directory
    not only inventory.. its going to mess at all other places where ORACLE_HOME (hard coded paths) is reffered.


    rgds
    abhay.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi Abhay

    You are right i messed (look what one month of bench could do to a DBA hehe)

    Try this instead

    Code:
    Install new Oracle Home at 
    /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0.3.0
      
    Apply the patch to the new Home 
      
    Shut down the database 
      
    Change Oracle Home to the new location 
      
    Start the database
    My advise which abhay has stressed still remains :-)

    regards
    Hrishy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Well i was thinking if a link would work?.. if it does then he dont need to do all the circus..

    Something like Link ../10.2.0.1 to ../10.2.0.3
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    Hmm if he can afford the downtime probably yes the link way makes the matters simple.

    regards
    Hrishy

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    46
    The inventory doesn't know the 10.2.0.3.0.
    I've tried to manualy modify the inventory.xml file to put ORACLE_HOME to 10.2.0.3.0, move directory /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0.1.0 to /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0.3.0
    and apply the new patch (10.2.0.3.0). the runInstaller seems applying the patch but when I run the root.sh it shows me some error whith chmod command (files not found). To verify the installation patch the opatch command (opatch lsinventory) tells everything is OK, but the relink command show me too many errors.

    I've already try the link ../10.2.0.3.0 to ../10.2.0.1.0 but it doesn't work , there are some error with the relink

    I didn't imagine it would be too hard to install a patch set from 10.2.0.1.0 to 10.2.0.3.0.
    yt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width