Dropping RMAN schema
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Dropping RMAN schema

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    62

    Dropping RMAN schema

    Hi,

    In order to test recovery using RMAN, i've created another user called RMANTEMP to do a recovery of my database (target database) on a separate host (catalog server). After a successful recovery, i intend to remove the RMANTEMP user.

    Do i need to execute 'drop catalog' on my catalog server? Will this affect RMAN's catalog?

    Do i also need to execute 'drop catalog' on my target database?

    Thanks in advance!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    You dont need to execute the drop catalog on the target database.

    If you have created a catalog on another catalog log database then you cna drop it while you are logged in as RMANTEMP

    While logged in as RMANTEMP onto the catalog database from RMAN prompt you can say DROP CATALOG.


    regards
    Hrishy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    62
    Thanks hrishy!!

    Is it neccessary to drop the user RMANTEMP in both the target and catalog server then?

    I was worried that there is any side effects since my target database is registered to 2 catalog servers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    I dont see any issues of dropping the RMANTEMP user from both the catalog and target database.

    Did i forgot to tell you to take a export backup of RMANTEMP user in both catalog and target database just case before you drop :-)

    regards
    Hrishy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    62
    Thanks alot Hrishy!

    According to what i've picked up from the online documentation, i've come to believe that as compared to unregistering my target database, dropping RMANTEMP will perhaps save some space in my database. Both will actually have the same end results in that i can no longer do backup or recovery using RMANTEMP. Is this correct?

    Regards,
    gxangel

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    Yes your understanding is correct once you drop the rmantemp user and its catalog you wont be able to backup the target database using that id.

    However you have another user called RMAN and you can use that for your backup and recovery needs

    regards
    Hrishy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    62
    Hi Hrishy,

    I don't get the part of dropping user RMANTEMP at the target database.

    The user RMANTEMP was created at the catalog server only. After which i log in using RMANTEMP at the target database to register the database.The subsequent recovery was done on the catalog server.

    In this case, won't dropping the user RMANTEMP at the target database be erroneous?

    Regards,
    gxangel

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    While doing a backup don't you connect simultaneously too catalog as well as target database ?

    How do you do your backup ?

    regards
    Hrishy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    62
    Hi Hrishy,

    My backup was done on the target server. The backup files are then copied over to the catalog server using data pump

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    I am sorry rman and datapump dont think so are related i did not understand what you are trying to say

    regards
    Hrishy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width