RMAN Configuration for 2 nodes RAC Database
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: RMAN Configuration for 2 nodes RAC Database

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    54

    RMAN Configuration for 2 nodes RAC Database



    Hi, How to create rman catalog and register database for 2 nodes RAC. Is the procedure same as of single database. I want to take backup using RMAN by creating catalog and registering RAC database on another Sun server consists of oracle 9i database, for my 2 nodes oracle 9i RAC database.

    All the datafiles are stored in SAN storage and for archivelogs the drive is shared for the two nodes.


    thanks,
    Last edited by habeebksa; 08-26-2007 at 04:57 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    why dont you read the docs which go over all of this?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    54

    RMAN Configuration for 2 nodes RAC Database


    Hi, I have gone through the Oracle 9i RMAN documentation of oracle press. But sorry to say that I didn't found the method for creating catalog and registering the target RAC database in the manual.

    My question is:

    Is it the same procedure to create catalog and register database for RAC DB with 2 nodes as of Single Production DB.

    since there are two nodes and a shared external storage which contains database files and archive logs, when I register the target database in recovery catalog database which is on different system and issue the RMAN>backup database plus archivelog; does archive logs are backed up from both the nodes along with datafiles.

    Thanks,

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    If the archived redologs are on the clustered filesystems (and i strongly advise you to use a clustered file system) and both the nodes can see the filesystem and it is properly configured then yes

    BACKUP DATABASE PLUS ARCHIVELOG DELETE INPUT;

    This will work perfectly

    You should read the RMAN docs and its all documented there

    http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B...ops.htm#443638



    regards
    Hrishy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    54

    RMAN Configuration for 2 nodes RAC Database

    Hi, thanks for the answers.

    Currently Iam taking RMAN full weekly backups on node 1, I can store only one weekly backup on node 1 due to space shortage. So first I delete the previous weekly backup before taking new weekly backup.

    After successfully taking the backup using
    RMAN>backup database plus archivelog;

    the backup files are written to disk and on tape.

    But when I issue
    RMAN>crosscheck backup completed before 'sysdate';
    RMAN shows the latest backup files as "Expired". It should have shown as "Available" as the files are physically present on disk, i have not deleted the latest backup files.

    Note: My catalog database is on another solaris machine.

    Question: Why RMAN is not treating the latest backup files as Available.

    One more thing: Iam getting a Solaris operating system message on node 1 as,

    message overflow on /dev/log minor #6 -- is syslogd (1M) running?

    Question: Is this the reason RMAN is not treating the files as Available, but it is reading the directory as it is displaying the backup files as Expired.


    Your kind help is appreciated,

    thanks,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    What commnad do you use to delete those backups

    The solaris error has nothing to do with rman

    regards
    Hrishy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    54

    RMAN Configuration for 2 nodes RAC Database


    Hi, I go to rman backup directory and give rm* command, to delete the backup files from operating system.


    thanks,

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    54

    RMAN Configuration for 2 nodes RAC Database

    Hi, Hrishy you have understood my case. please help me to solve this problem.

    Note: the os command $scstat -p, shows one of the resource

    Infra as online but Degraded - IPMP Failure

    this error is on node 1 on which Iam taking backups, is this the reason RMAN showing the latest backups as Expired eventhough they exists on disk.

    thanks,

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    Please let me know what does the following command return

    crosscheck backup of database
    completed between 'SYSDATE' and 'SYSDATE-30';

    When you are deleting backups ensure that you dont use OS commands to do so.

    For deleting expired backups of previous week type the following

    RMAN>DELETE EXPIRED BACKUP COMPLETED BEFORE SYSDATE-7

    and for deleting backups completed before 7 days type

    RMAN>DELETE BACKUP COMPLETED BEFORE SYSDATE-7

    Don't use the OS utilites to maintain the backups.

    This message below
    Infra as online but Degraded - IPMP Failure
    has got nothing do with rman its something to Sun Cluster but i am not sure check with your solaris admin

    regards
    Hrishy

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    54

    RMAN Configuration for 2 nodes RAC Database



    Hi, first sorry for delay in replying to your message.

    Hrishy, this is the output of the command that you have asked for. It is not displaying any backups records.

    RMAN> crosscheck backup completed
    2> between 'sysdate' and 'sysdate-30';

    using channel ORA_SBT_TAPE_1
    using channel ORA_DISK_1

    RMAN>


    thanks and regards,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width