DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: referencing report parameters

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pakistan, Rahim Yar Khan
    Posts
    4

    referencing report parameters

    dear all,

    i m working in oracle-developer6. in reports builder, in report parameter form, how can I refer the value selected in one parameter, in LOV select statement of other parameter or is there any other way out for this purpose

    waiting for immidiate help
    thanks
    TKJ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Atlanta,GA
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation have you found your answer yet

    Hi i am having kind of same problem and i am waiting for the answer.
    Have you found the answer for your question.
    the problem that i am having is that i have to ask user to enter DATE and CUSTOMER_NAME so i am passing two parameters do you know who to work with REPORTS BUILDER?
    i will appriciated your help.
    Thanks

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vadodara, India
    Posts
    249
    From where you want to pass value to parameter. You want to pass it from FORM or ...?

    Explain in detail.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Atlanta,GA
    Posts
    6

    Angry Parameter

    Thanks Nirav,
    Actually, the way i start my report is. I choose to use query for my report. In my query i pass the parameter. I attached my query so you can have better idea. The parameter that i am passing in in BOLD format. so when i open Report Builder i choose paper layout report and i click next and at the stage where i have to import table or query i choose option SQL QUERY and basicaly i copy and past the query. so now when i try to do the PREVIEW it is giving me an error. so after reading several thread i realize that i have to create a FORM like you mention.

    The problem is i never done it before and i was thinking that i some one can give me some direction that can help me out. I will be very thankful to you nirav if you can give me little direction.

    Here is my Query:

    SELECT DISTINCT (SSN), first_name+' '+last_name as Full_Name, application_datetime, a1.property_name, a.bedroom_size, h.MOVE_IN_DATE, h.unit_id, u.NUM_OF_BEDROOMS, a1.property_name, a1.privateco_name
    FROM PMCO.applicant a,
    pmco.aha_property a1,
    pmco.household h,
    pmco.unit u
    WHERE a.report_month = '&3' -- PASSING PARAMETER
    AND h.report_month=u.report_month
    AND h.changed_by=u.changed_by
    AND h.UNIT_ID=u.unit_id
    AND a.bedroom_size=u.NUM_OF_BEDROOMS
    AND a.property_id =u.property_id
    AND a.report_month=h.report_month
    AND h.MOVE_IN_DATE >= a.application_datetime
    AND h.MOVE_IN_DATE < a.report_month
    AND h.PROPERTY_ID=a.property_id
    AND h.property_id !=216
    AND a1.privateco_name LIKE '%&4%' AND h.move_out_date IS NULL
    AND ssn IN (
    SELECT DISTINCT (a.SSN)
    FROM PMCO.applicant a
    WHERE a.report_month = '&3'
    AND a.move_in_date IS NULL
    AND h.PROPERTY_ID=a.property_id
    AND a.property_id=a1.property_number
    AND h.property_id !=216
    AND a.ssn IN (
    SELECT r.ssn
    FROM pmco.residents r
    WHERE r.REPORT_MONTH = '&3'
    AND UPPER(a.last_name) = UPPER(r.last_name)
    AND UPPER(a.first_name) = UPPER(r.first_name)
    AND r.unit_id=h.unit_id
    AND (2||SUBSTR(r.unit_id,0,2) != a.property_id -- 20060725 mburch - to exclude applicants to a different property
    OR a.bedroom_size != u.NUM_OF_BEDROOMS) -- or a different bedroom size
    AND a.changed_by = r.changed_by)
    )

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vadodara, India
    Posts
    249
    There are two ways to pass parameter.

    1. You can create parameter form in report itself. Here you have to allow
    users to enter parameter value.

    2. You can create FORM. Run the report from FORM by passing the parameter to report

    e.g.

    A. Create one button.
    B. Write following code in when-button-press trigger

    declare
    pl_id paramlist;
    pl_name varchar(10) := 'rpt_param';

    begin
    pl_id := get_parameter_list(pl_name);
    if not id_null(pl_id) then
    destroy_parameter_list(pl_id);
    end if;
    pl_id := create_parameter_list(pl_name);

    add_parameter(pl_id, 'P_REP_TITLE', text_parameter, 'Report Name');

    Run_Product(REPORTS,'ABC', SYNCHRONOUS, RUNTIME,FILESYSTEM, pl_id, NULL);

    end;


    Here P_REP_TITLE is same parameter name must be exist in report.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Atlanta,GA
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation Button

    Thanks Nirav
    but this is what i found out about creating a Button in Oracle 10g. when i try to find out how to create a button in Report Builder this is what i found out from Help Menu

    Note: * The ability to create a button in the Paper Layout view is no longer supported in Oracle Reports 10g. * Use hyperlinks instead.

    So can you give me direction how to put the button or hyperlinks in Paper Layout Form? I will be very thankful to you Nirav.

    Thank You

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width