init parameters
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: init parameters

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    163

    Cool

    Where in the database do I find my initialization parameters?
    I thought you can type 'show parameter parameter_name' in sqlplus. Well, it doesn't work.
    I was looking for an ORACLE_HOME setting and typed the following query:
    select * from v$parameter where name ='ORACLE_HOME';
    It didn't find anything either.
    I know you can always go and look at your init.ora file but I prefer a quick look up through sqlplus. It saves me time since I am already logged onto sqlplus.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    126

    Wink

    What version of Oracle? In 8i, you can can do this from sqlplus. In Oracle 7, you need to go into Server Manager.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    205
    Hi there...

    There are two ways:

    at sqlplus you can type in:
    sho parameters
    or show parameters

    or you can use the v$parameter view by either selecting * from it for all or if you are looking for a particular parameter, then use the where clause for name (name here is the name of the parameter, e.g. db_block_buffers, and remember to put it in correct case and in quotes... the value is the entry.. etc..) just do a desc of V$parameter.

    Good luck,
    Nirasha

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Silver Spring MD USA
    Posts
    105
    ORACLE_HOME is not an Oracle parameter.
    This is set at the OS level. Therefore you cannot search for this OS parameter through SQLPLUS.

    All DATABASE parameters are searchable through show parameter command or in the V$PARAMETER view.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    ORACLE_HOME is not a valid parameter in v$parameter. Is this Unix or NT?? If you type just 'show parameter', all parameters will get listed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    163
    I am using NT.
    I found the valid command would be
    show or sho [parameter name\all].

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    236
    On Nt to determine your Oracle Home setting (not parameter) go into the registry>Local Machine>Software>HomeX and take a look.

    Nizar

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width