DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: RMAN Restore from Old Tape Backup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    515

    RMAN Restore from Old Tape Backup

    I have a production database(9.2.0.3). that is backed up using RMAN nocatalog. The user want me to take a backup off of tape from June 21st and recreate in development (different directory structure). I can't seem to be able to find exactly how to do that. Can anyone give me a link?

    rman target=/ << EOF >>${shlog} 2>&1
    RUN {
    shutdown immediate
    startup mount
    CONFIGURE CONTROLFILE AUTOBACKUP ON;
    CONFIGURE CONTROLFILE AUTOBACKUP FORMAT FOR DEVICE TYPE DISK TO '$BKUPDIR/cf_%d_%F';
    CONFIGURE DEFAULT DEVICE TYPE TO DISK;
    CONFIGURE DEVICE TYPE DISK PARALLELISM 1;
    CONFIGURE CHANNEL DEVICE TYPE DISK FORMAT = '$BKUPDIR/df_%d_%Y%M%D_%s';
    CONFIGURE RETENTION POLICY TO REDUNDANCY 2;

    # Back up all critical tablespaces using Incremental Level 0 - Cumulative.
    BACKUP INCREMENTAL LEVEL 0 CUMULATIVE
    (
    DATABASE
    );

    # Back up all archived redo logs that have not yet been backed up
    # at least twice to the same device
    BACKUP ARCHIVELOG ALL
    NOT BACKED UP 2 TIMES;

    # Delete all archived redo logs that have already been backed up at least twice
    # to the same device
    DELETE NOPROMPT ARCHIVELOG ALL
    BACKED UP 2 TIMES
    TO DEVICE TYPE DISK;
    DELETE NOPROMPT OBSOLETE REDUNDANCY 2;
    }
    alter database open;
    list backup summary;
    EXIT;

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,492

    Talking



    1) Restore all June 21st backup files to disk.
    2) Restore the controlfile from June 21st backup.
    3) Restore database.

    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    515

    I restored control file

    I got the controlfile restored.

    I renamed the datafiles using setname

    I renamed the log files

    Now I am having as problem when it tries to do the restore. It is looking for the backupset in the production backup directory instead of where I have it on development.

    How do I tell it to go to this other directory to find the backupset?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,334
    allocate a channel

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    Not sure if you can achieve that. The problem is that into the control file, the backupset is described, with its tag, its contents and.... its backup pieces with their path. Now when u try to restore, it finds out the backupset to restore from and its backup pieces
    Can you reproduce the same directory structure on the dev machine using say links?

    Regards

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1
    You can use catalog backuppiece and update RMAn for the new location of backupsets.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    aradhana Arora
    are you sure that works with 9i? I think that appeared in 10g

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    515

    10g Command

    That, I believe is a 10G command. It is not working since this is 9.2.0.3.

    I tried to tell the channel where to look with the format command but it did not work.

    ALLOCATE CHANNEL c1 TYPE DISK FORMAT '/uatdb03/bkp/FXUSPD01/coldbackup/df_%d_%Y%M%D_%s';

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    I am afraid in this way you are telling where the channel to write, not where to read from.
    It finds that in the control file and I am afraid there is no way to change it
    Maybe you can try the following
    At the source, make a directory on the disk and backup the backuset to that directory ( I think that should work in 9i as well)
    At the destination, make the same directory, copy the backup pieces there and restore from them ( of course you will need the control file from after the backup backupset)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    515

    That Worked

    I did that and it worked thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width