Oracle Application Server and Oracle Database on the same machine
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Oracle Application Server and Oracle Database on the same machine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    13

    Oracle Application Server and Oracle Database on the same machine

    Hi,
    I am certificate (OCA and OCP) in the oracle database 10g and DB2 Database Administrator too.

    Now I want to get the Oracle Application Server 10g and I would like to know if is that possible to install both on the same machine?
    For example, how i set the environment variable because both use the same variable like ORACLE_HOME

    Can someone help me to meet this.
    If someone had a link to some web site

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    I see... mhhh... that sounds like a question to be asked to an OCP
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    well variables are easy to deal with. just use oraenv, a shell script which comes with oracle installations to switch to different environments

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    So really what's common between your OCP and the iAS?
    Support PAVB, as an OCP you should be able to answer that question

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    13
    Pando, I think that now I understood you.
    I rename the oraenv,coraenv and dbhome files to oraenv_oas,coraenv_oas and dbhome_oas from OAS $ORACLE_HOME and change the references on the root.sh script and it's work.
    I had some problems on the installation because I didn't complete all the S.O. requirements.
    I will reinstall the Fedora Linux and install everything again.
    I have the ORACLE DATABASE 10g, DB2 DATABASE V9.1 and now I will install the Oracle Application Server 10g.
    I prefered to resintall everything againg to practise and see if it will work.

    I will post the results.
    Thank you for the idea.

    Note: My apologizes if I wrote anything wrong.
    I am from Brazil and my english is not very well, but I believe that you understood me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    why are you changing oracle scripts - dont do it

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by walterflavio
    Pando, I think that now I understood you.
    I don't think so
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    Man, simply run the installer and be happy.
    You will need to change the ORACLE_HOME and PATH only when going on command prompt, simply to give the machine understand if you address the DB or the iAS.
    oraenv can help here, but you can also simply export ORACLE_HOME and PATH as needed

    Regards

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    13
    Look, for while it is working like I did.
    I will continue and see what happen.
    I just obtain to install the web services and j2ee services.
    SOA SUITE doesn't work.
    I ask you: it is enough to start to study or I need all installed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    depends what you want to learn

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width