Creating Staging Database - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Creating Staging Database

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    I didn't see any "create a database in staging server" in your original post; you added it after I pointed your strategy wouldn't do it.

    Duplicating a database from datafiles/archivelogs/controlfiles/... works all the time; I will love to see you working out your exp/imp strategy in a medium size database... lets say as small as 500Gig in size.

    If you want to suggest a solution that has a size constraint, better to ask OP for the size of the database, then, if applies, suggest it. Simple isn't
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    DC,USA
    Posts
    650
    I cannot assume sizes and give solution for all options. Its the responsibility of the OP to get the solution by providing the data in the forum.

    I give suggestions and clues by which the OP has to decide what is best for him/her.

    you added it after I pointed your strategy wouldn't do it.
    Thanks for pointing, i expected this from the OP, are they paying attention. I dont like to spoon feed unless the baby asks.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UNDER MOON
    Posts
    44
    Some one told me they copy the phy file from PROD DB by CA (without shutdown PROD DB coz 24*7 inv),and PLACE the phy file to staging database

    and staging database using for backup and reporting purpose.

    THEY r using HP-UX.

    Its not clear,WHT the CA??,how to copy ?? ....anybody give the details information???

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    My eyes! my eyes!
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    Quote Originally Posted by liakat
    Some one told me they copy the phy file from PROD DB by CA (without shutdown PROD DB coz 24*7 inv),and PLACE the phy file to staging database

    and staging database using for backup and reporting purpose.

    THEY r using HP-UX.

    Its not clear,WHT the CA??,how to copy ?? ....anybody give the details information???
    can you PLEASE post in legible English using real words - it makes your posts so hard to read

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vadodara, India
    Posts
    249
    Will it be work with 24*7 DB?


    Take hot backup of production database.

    Copy datafiles to staging server.

    Create controlfile script from production database.

    Transfer archive logs to staging server.

    Rename database by creating controlfile. The script is created from production database.

    recover database.

    Open DB with resetlogs.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    231
    Thanks Dave.,but iam too late to say.
    only after seeing your post, i read the thread second time.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Just a couple of minor changes... in the blue color

    Quote Originally Posted by bhattnirav
    Will it be work with 24*7 DB?

    Put production database in backup mode
    Force checkpoint

    Copy datafiles to staging server.

    Create controlfile script from production database.

    Take production database out of backup mode

    Transfer archive logs to staging server.

    Rename database by creating controlfile. The script is created from production database like
    CREATE CONTROLFILE REUSE SET DATABASE "STGDB" RESETLOGS ARCHIVELOG

    recover database until cancel.

    Open DB with resetlogs.
    Last edited by PAVB; 07-26-2007 at 09:16 AM.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vadodara, India
    Posts
    249
    Thanks PAVB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width