'exp' not recognized
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: 'exp' not recognized

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343

    'exp' not recognized

    I have Oracle 9i client version installed on my machine and am not able to do exp/imp. I get " 'exp' is not recognized as an internal or external command" from my command prompt. I am running on Windows XP2002. Is there anything in the config I can change or do I have to re-install Oracle again.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    DC,USA
    Posts
    650
    Have'nt you installed the server version?

    Can you locate exp.exe in bin?
    Last edited by dbasan; 07-03-2007 at 01:02 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343
    Quote Originally Posted by dbasan
    Have'nt you installed the server version?

    Can you locate exp.exe in bin?
    I have the client version installed and am not able to locate exp.exe. Will try installing the server version.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1

    Smile 'exp' not recognized

    it depends on the client you have installed, if it is light client then you wont be able to do it.

    Then run the catexp.sql or catalog.sql script

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Cllient -standard- installation should be enough
    Look under ORACLE_HOME/bin
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, USA
    Posts
    39
    also try running the exp/imp by specifying the full path to the executable. if %ORACLE%\bin is no in your PATH then just tying exp/imp is not good enough

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    Quote Originally Posted by jagsy
    Please check the environment parameter path and add the path where imp or exp .exe is located then u can call from dos.This is the only cause for the issue.Right click on my computer -->go to advanced and check environemnt variables or
    cmd-->path.
    how can it be the only issue? He has already said it isnt installed!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343
    Is there anywhere I can download just the imp/exp utility or similar tools ? I have 9i client installed, but need the tools to export/import some data.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    DC,USA
    Posts
    650
    You can get the executable from another XP systems you have, provide they are the same Oracle version or higher.

    If this is for your personal use then you can download from Oracle.

    All the best!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Did you check your ORACLE_HOME? is it properly set?
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width