CPU utilization
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: CPU utilization

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    162

    CPU utilization

    Hi,

    In my AIX server, we're having 5 cPUs but it seems only one CPU utilization is more
    & others are low even when there is situation that all the CPUs should be utilized for
    an activity, but it's not happening. Is there any ORACLE init.ora parameters do we've
    to set for multiple CPU utilization? Expecting your valuable suggesstions on this issue?

    Thanks..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    no, the os deals with scheduling and a process can only go on one cpu so if you have one process doing a lot of work , only one cpu will be used

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    Davey is right as usual, but there is something u can do. It is called parallelization.
    If the load comes mainly from one large query, u will face that problem. Then Oracle supports (in EE) parallel queries, which means u can split the query and the session to use several PQ slave processes to parallel scan,join, order whatever the data, hence to utilize all the CPUs

    Regards

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    162
    Thanks Bore,

    Do i've to set any init.ora parameters to use all the CPUs by means of
    parallelization?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4
    If u r using 10g the parameter called parallel_max_servers this is for parallelization of query. Check the usage of this parameter in web before going to use

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    to use all CPU you must parallelize your SQL statements which is a good idea in Data Warehouse and a very BAD idea in an OLTP system

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    Support PANDO. Generally u say nothing about the load. What generates it? It is very dependent on that how will u parallelize the process.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    349

    Arrow

    I would suggest to do execute top command to check the top CPU intensive processes. Then check if it's oracle process. If oracle drill down what query is that, then you may use the Parallel hint. If it's not Oracle process not much you can do, may raise SR.
    http://www.perf-engg.com
    A performance engineering forum

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width