Enterprise Manager startup
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Enterprise Manager startup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    10

    Enterprise Manager startup

    Hi,
    I have installed Oracle 10g Enterprise Manager on linux VMware. When I type in

    [ebethea@localhost bin]$./emctl start dbconsole;

    I got a Environment Variable ORACLE_SID not defined. So I exported my ORACLE_SID and tried it again and got this error messege:

    OC4J Configuration issue. /home/ebethea/OraHome_1/oc4j/j2ee/OC4J_DBConsole_localhost.localdomain_test not found.

    Can anyone help me get past this point? I saw the other posting about this but it didn't help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    emca -deconfig dbcosole db
    emca -config dbconsole db

    Regards

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    10

    Enterprise Manager startup

    I am now getting this error message:
    bash: emca: command not found
    I switched to root and it still isn't working. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    10
    Sorry, I fixed the bash error message and I tried these commands:

    emca -deconfig dbcosole db
    emca -config dbconsole db

    and they didn't work. I'm still getting error message:

    OC4J Configuration issue. /home/ebethea/OraHome_1/oc4j/j2ee/OC4J_DBConsole_localhost.localdomain_test not found.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    get back to Oracle.
    Never work as root

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    10
    Ok still having trouble. When I check my ORACLE_SID and ORACLE_HOME using this command:

    env |grep ORA

    I come up with 2 ORACLE_SID. Could this be the reason I'm getting the "OC4J" error? What do I do?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    you cant havr 2 ORACLE_SID's set, impossible

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    10

    EM startup

    I am still getting that OC4J Configuration issue. Metalink note 340820.1 says that The OC4J container for the dbconsole cannot initialize correctly because it is reading the ORACLE_SID from the enviromental variables and does not find the correct subdirectory.

    It tells me to Set ORACLE_SID ORACLE_HOME to the correct database and home directory. I did that and I still get the same error message.

    Do I need to redirect my OC4J to read the path of my ORACLE_SID? If so how do I do that?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    yes you still provide no proof

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    İstanbul/Turkey
    Posts
    25
    when you are on oracle user,
    what happens when you try,
    cd $ORACLE_HOME/oc4j
    can you directly go in to the directory? if not,then it means you re setting it wrong.
    And also there are enviroment setting is emctl script too.Check them too,they must be true.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width