environment varible ORACLE_SID not defined. please define it.
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: environment varible ORACLE_SID not defined. please define it.

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4

    environment varible ORACLE_SID not defined. please define it.

    ive search an uncountable amount of forums and i think i have used google to the max. i am currently teaching myself how to install and run oracle. its actually quite fun so i am not discouraged at all. i find that alot of people seem to have this question but the solutions given usually drop off. i hope this will help me as well as ones after.

    problem: im running 10g rel 1 on vm ware. i have completely done the install to the best of my knowledge. i have been unable to get past

    environment variable ORACLE_SID not defined. please define it.

    ive tried set ORACLE_SID=test but seem to be at stand still

    i apologize to any if this question has been solved, but i did a search and found nothing. do to reading the not from STICKY i apologize again for possibley repeating this question

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    youd ont say what you are doing, how you set it and how you ensure it is set, what os you are on, what version of oracle you are on.

    in fact any information whatsoever

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    57
    did you try
    bash# export ORACLE_SID=dbname
    or
    bash# set ORACLE_SID=dbaname
    verify all ur ora env variables
    bash#env | grep ORA

    if yes then
    check ur init"sid".ora and create dbscript has the same name as ur ORACLE_SID and check the db_name paramter has the same name as ur ORACLE_SID
    People with goals know where they are going

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    thanks a bunch davey23uk and zakriyamhd. bash# export ORACLE_SID=dbname worked just fine. i was just alittle pre-mature in making export all caps. thanks a bunch guys. sorry to get back to you so late

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    also dave i do apologize for not providing more info

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    I am running Oracle 10g. When I try login the Enterprise Manager. The following error occurs.

    Error Message

    RemoteOperationException: ERROR: NMO not setuid-root (Unix-only)

    any suggestions...?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Two things....

    1- Issue appears to be privileges related at O/S level - get help from you sysadm.
    2- Please open a new thread when you are posting a new issue - please do not piggy back in a three years old thread that has nothing to do with your issue :-)
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width