Error accessing OEM in 10g.
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Error accessing OEM in 10g.

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bangalore,IND
    Posts
    47

    Error accessing OEM in 10g.

    When i login to the OEM as sys it gives error, says your agent is not started. When i start the agent i get "Ora 28591 unable to access parameter file"

    Can anyone point me where are the agent control init files are located?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Pune,Maharashtra. India.
    Posts
    245
    agent generally has properties file as below. in which all parameters are set.

    $OH/sysman/config/emd.properties

    Can you paste o/p of "emctl status agent"
    also when you say "emctl start agent" does it says failed.
    you can see or paste log files under "$OH/sysman/log"
    main files are emagent.trc emdctl.trc.....

    Rgds
    Parag
    Rgds
    Parag

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bangalore,IND
    Posts
    47
    Thanks parag.

    I could drill down and the jvm.dll was corrupted. HAd to reinstall to keep this going good.

    Now i need to know how to add other remote instances to this OEM to have an integrated monitoring.

    BAck in 9i it was so clear and easy to add instances to OEM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    it is in 10g as well, just install like agent like you did on 9i

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    202
    as davey said, just install the agent on the host and it (should) discover all the targets avaliable. I find pulling the agents from the OEM the simplest method, just give the agentdownload scripts the OEM details and it'll do the rest.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bangalore,IND
    Posts
    47
    Can you brief me a lil elaborate?

    In 9i i used to add database to the tree which connects to the remote host and upon contacting the agent it refreshes all the databases and puts under my db tree in 9i OEM window.

    I have two servers, A has oracle 10g oem database and a dev database. In this server I have the OEM set up and it picks up the dev database to EM window using the 10g agent. Now in this 10g EM window i want all my production 9i db's which runs on remote server B. I have the agent running on server B and the service names are listed in 10g tnsnames file.

    How should i add all the 9i db's on my 10g EM?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    you install the 10g agent

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bangalore,IND
    Posts
    47
    10g agent is installed and working!

    How to add the iinstances?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by manasa
    How to add the instances?
    Log into OEM... Targets/Databases/Add and follow instructions
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bangalore,IND
    Posts
    47
    When i log in to OEM it opens along with the database, there is no separate common windows for EM. When i use the "http:\\local_host:1381\em\console" goes to the database login screen with username/password and connect as.

    I do not see even i login to the database the path you have given. I fear I am not in right track. Is that some thing I am missing?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width