How to reorganize the table online??
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to reorganize the table online??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Hyderabad, India
    Posts
    1

    Unhappy How to reorganize the table online??

    hi all,

    i am new bee

    i have faced one question in an interview.how to reorganize the existing table without disturbing the active users??

    could u help me to find out the answer?


    thanx in advance
    JayC

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    there is always some price to pay...

    use "alter table move" to reorg the table.
    use "alter index rebuild online" to reorg the indexes.

    At least your users will have table always available, with non-usable indexes at some point in time.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    better question is why you think you need to do it

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    Davey, nicely done. That's precisely the answer the interviewer should have been looking for.
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    you can try DBMS_REDEFINITION

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Quote Originally Posted by KenEwald
    Davey, nicely done. That's precisely the answer the interviewer should have been looking for.
    Perhaps.

    Or maybe the interview expect you to return a question like:

    "In what version are we talking about here?"

    if it's 10g then as what pando says "try DBMS_REDIFINITION"
    ---------------

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Quote Originally Posted by reydp
    Perhaps.

    Or maybe the interview expect you to return a question like:

    "In what version are we talking about here?"

    if it's 10g then as what pando says "try DBMS_REDIFINITION"
    DBMS_REDEFINITION is also available in 9i.
    ---------------

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Actually, though I've heared this before, I haven't used this.
    Seems like new things to experiment.
    Thanks Pando
    ---------------

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width