Flashback logs area
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Flashback logs area

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    13

    Flashback logs area

    Is that possible to clear flashback logs in the Flashback Area?
    In this case, how can I do this?
    I'm OCA and I'm studing for OCP exam.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    409
    A flashback log is resued automatically
    --when it goes outside flashback retention target value set.
    --when flashback recovery area is full and more space is needed to create a new flashback log(oldest logs gets deleted first)
    -- Dilip

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    13
    I understand.
    But, is there some command that clear it, like "delete flashback logs" or something like that.
    I'm asking because I know that flashback area is empty when I disable flashback database, but I don't want to have to disable flashback to clear it.

    PS: I'm sorry If I wrote anything wrong, but I'm Brazilian and my english it's not so good.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Not sure why you want to clear flashback logs, believe me they are very usefull and there is a reason for them to be there

    Anyway, assuming you are using RMAN as your backup platform, you can always use RMAN delete command.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    409
    Walterflavio,
    I did not have any problems with your english so nothing to be sorry about. Hope RMAN delete command works for you as PAVB suggested.

    Thanks,

    Dilip.
    -- Dilip

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    13
    PAVB/patel_dil,

    I know that are a very useful and they exists to recovery the database, but as I said, I'm studing at home and it was a simple curiosity.

    Thanks for the atenttion.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    The only one way to remove flashback log. That is to trun off flashback database.
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width