Refreshing QA databases quickly
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Refreshing QA databases quickly

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204

    Refreshing QA databases quickly

    I have about 1-TB of databases to replicate from a production environment to a QA environment.

    What methods work best for doing this quickly?
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    41

    BCVs

    I work in an environment which has multiple databases upto 5 TB each, being a financial institute.
    We use BCVs to do hot sync and back them up from the media server. Recovery also is just the time it takes to sync and split + DB recovery. its been very effective and also we have few automated BCV restores whihc run weekly.
    Milind
    -----------------------------
    www.milinds.com
    My Private World on the Web !

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    259
    That assumes he has speciallized hardware that is capable.

    You have PM.

  4. #4
    Assuming no specialized storage hardware, you can either perform a data-pump export / import (a db-to-db one to avoid the intermediate disk step), or back up the primary database to the secondary and recover it until it is consistent.

    Your limiting factor is going to be the bandwidth between the two hosts.
    Last edited by jhmartin; 03-08-2007 at 11:43 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA, USA
    Posts
    3,135
    Quote Originally Posted by KenEwald
    I have about 1-TB of databases to replicate from a production environment to a QA environment.

    What methods work best for doing this quickly?
    Did you try RMAN to clone the database? I would opt for this first.

    BCV is expensive. Since the system went live, I do not think you would consider BCV option now.

    Depending upon the dollar you have, you can consider BMC's SQLBACKTRACK also.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    I'm using rman dup and it is taking too long. The dups are threading ok. just need something that doesn't take all weekend.

    Has anyone used mdadm?
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    You need a weekend to move 1TB data...? I thought my current cutomer backup & restore was very slow, they move 800 GB in 28 hours or so

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    259
    Can you take a subset of the production data instead of the entire DB ?

    Less data to move, less to copy, less to load == Much faster.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width