importing to a specified tablespace only
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: importing to a specified tablespace only

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    96

    importing to a specified tablespace only

    i created the user like this
    create user se_billing identified by billing default tablepsace mytbs;
    but when i am importing a .dmp file to into this user it is importing
    to system tablespace only. i.e i observed all segments are in
    system tablepace only. what to do?
    while importing should i specify tablepsace to which i want to import.
    plz suggest

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    409
    There is no to tablespace option while import so you cannot use it. What is your oracle version and what syntax are you using to import. Do you have fromuser, touser in it?
    -- Dilip

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    the problem all the tables were in the system tablespace in the original database, dont give yourself access to the system tablespace in your new database and the tables will go into your default tablespace

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    Right Davey :-)
    To be more specific, revoke the RESOURCE role from the destination user, then
    alter user YOUR_USER quota 0 on SYSTEM
    alter user YOUR_USER default tablespace SOME_TABLESPACE
    alte user YOUR_USER quota unlimited on SOME_TABLESPACE

    and here we go

    Good luck

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    62
    If importing in 10g you can specify a 'to' tablespace.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    And if you use DP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width