Duplicating a DB with RMAN - and keeping current over days
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Duplicating a DB with RMAN - and keeping current over days

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    334

    Duplicating a DB with RMAN - and keeping current over days

    Hi!
    I have a scenario that I'm trying to see if it will work with RMAN. (9i databases)

    I have a database in production. I want to clone it over to another machine with RMAN. But I don't want to open it. I want to keep it current for several days. Then after applying the Incremental backups & logs over several days, open it.

    The reason is I have a VERY short downtime window and the database is too big to clone during that window. The idea is that all we'll have to do is apply the logs from the last hour or so during the down time, then we'll be up and running.

    I thought about using DUPLICATE, but it opens the database with reset logs. The Docs suggest re-running this to keep it up todate, but that does a complete clone again.

    I also thought about using standby, but not sure about it yet.

    Does anyone have any clever ideas?

    Thanks!
    Jodie

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA, USA
    Posts
    3,135
    Physical Standby is the best option for your case.

    Or
    You can move/copy all the hot backup data files and archive logs to another machine daily, and wait for recovery, in case the primary db goes down.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    it's still sounds like a standby db
    ---------------

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    In 10g you can merge an incremental Level 1 backup into existing immage copies Level 0 backup, even without moving it to another machine
    http://download-uk.oracle.com/docs/c...92/bkup004.htm
    Last edited by Bore; 03-01-2007 at 09:14 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    334
    I think Standby probably is the way to go, but I just wondered if anyone had any other ideas.

    Thanks for your input!

    Jodie

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Maybe Tamil should clarify how his Physical Standby works.

    If I were to resolute ur requirements without actually creating a standby db,
    I'll only be needing the full backup and the archive logs.

    I will recreate the db to other machine with the same structure,
    if not possible recreate the controlfile.

    Apply the archive logs gradually.

    And open the database with resetlogs when primary server fails.
    ---------------

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    Quote Originally Posted by reydp
    Maybe Tamil should clarify how his Physical Standby works.

    If I were to resolute ur requirements without actually creating a standby db,
    I'll only be needing the full backup and the archive logs.

    I will recreate the db to other machine with the same structure,
    if not possible recreate the controlfile.

    Apply the archive logs gradually.

    And open the database with resetlogs when primary server fails.
    that's pretty much what the physical standby db is.
    Sanjay G.
    Oracle Certified Professional 8i, 9i.

    "The degree of normality in a database is inversely proportional to that of its DBA"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    So that's a Physical Standby.
    Oh men, Sometimes I do things as I learned them without knowing how those things named.
    Thanks for the clarification SANJAY.
    ---------------

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width