standby - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 55

Thread: standby

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    231
    hi,
    Sorry..!,
    Specifying the path to spfile for productiondb to bounce(which is in remote).

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    231
    Hi all,
    I have checked my standby,whether it is working properly.I opened in read only mode.It showed err as..

    SQL> alter database open read only;
    alter database open read only
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-16004: backup database requires recovery
    ORA-01195: online backup of file 1 needs more recovery to be consistent
    ORA-01110: data file 1: '/mnt/db/oracle/oradata/ISPRO20/system01.dbf'

    In the mean time my friend added a datafile in productionDB.(Actually he was doing that,I just verified standby,it shows err.What to do we don't know)

    pls help us..
    Last edited by ams-jamali; 03-02-2007 at 12:09 AM. Reason: to increase details

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    create also the datafile in the standby db, before applying the arch logs.
    ---------------

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    startup mount the standby db,
    alter database create datafile '/folder/.../datafilename.dbf';
    ---------------

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    231
    hi,
    I was not able to create datafile, i used

    SQL> alter tablespace USRDATA add datafile
    2 '/mnt/db/oracle/oradata/USDB/isdata11.dbf'
    3 size 2000M autoextend on next 200 maxsize unlimited;
    alter tablespace ISHDATA add datafile
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-01109: database not open

    SQL> select status from v$instance;

    STATUS
    ------------
    MOUNTED

    Pls help further.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    alter database create datafile.....
    ---------------

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    231
    I want to add datafile to that particular tablespace
    So i did as

    SQL> alter database create datafile '/mnt/db/oracle/oradata/USDB/isdata11.dbf'
    2 size 2000M autoextend on next 200 maxsize unlimited as URSDATA;
    alter database create datafile '/mnt/db/oracle/oradata/ISPRO20/ishdata11.dbf'
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-02000: missing AS keyword

    Is there any way to create datafile file first and then add that file to tablespace.If so specify.
    Last edited by ams-jamali; 03-02-2007 at 02:32 AM. Reason: to increase details

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    it's basically like:
    alter database create datafile '/folder/.../dfilename.dbf'
    as
    '/folder/.../dfilename.dbf';

    try to experment with the syntax, there's no harm.
    I'll try to see docs, or others may post the SYNTAX.
    ---------------

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    231
    hi all,
    can any one help me to this above senario.I want to create a file with autoextend on and add that dbf file to particular tablespace.If i create now, will it show any err.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    it is only the file structure(physical) that is important to your standby database. You don't need to add datafile properties like autoextend etc...

    create the datafile as specified above.
    ---------------

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width