database control - orcl - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: database control - orcl

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by Bore
    1) The DHCP is not a good idea
    2) Remove the old configuration
    emca -deconfig dbcontrol db
    3) Create the new configuration
    emca -config dbcontrol db

    You'll need the host name/ip, the listener port number, the insatnce name

    Regards
    Hi dear, I got one more question In my server I installed losts of DBs
    8i,9i, 10gxe, 10gR1EE, 10gr2EE, 10gR2cleint
    I want to install a dbcontrol (once only) but I want to connect to these
    different databases one at a time. I am thinking of changing a parameter
    value like the instnace name where i want my dbconsole to manage to.
    Where do I find that parameter to edit with?

    Thanks again

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    ORACLE_SID, and you need to configure dbconsole per database

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    212
    Thanks dear....

    So I will envoke "emca -config dbcotrol db" 5 times if I have 5 different
    databases? hmmmm...and does each make a shortcut in the menu program
    tab? where do I find the location of each on the dbcontrol?


    Hi again.... I tried configuring one db control for my ORCL db like Mr Bore said,
    and I done it successfully. The login web page now appeared. But when I
    entered the SYSTEM userid and PASSWORD....nothing happens....it doesnt
    bring me to the next page...its just ignoring me I know my
    password is correct. Coz it can detect if I enter a wrong password.

    Pls help again....thanks

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    well you can only have 2, 10gR1 and 10gR2 cant have dbconsole with the others

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    212
    yes dear....im just working for 1 console for 10gR2 only....but as I said when
    i login to the web login page nothing happens. How do I view some errors logs
    with this regard

    Thanks

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    Hi!
    Each dbconsole controls ONLY ONE instance.
    The functionallity you want to achieve is called Oracle Enterprise Manager Grid Control and to be honest is pain in the..... neck :-)

    So if the only reason is to see all the databases from one screen... better start one dbcontrol for each instance, at different port and bookmark the URLS :-)

    Cheers

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    212
    oh no...u didnt get me dear...I have not successfully run my dbcontrol yet...
    just forget all other databases please....i am only concentrating of connecting
    or controlling one database for now that is 10gR2 db....

    I followed your advice which are:

    2) Remove the old configuration
    emca -deconfig dbcontrol db
    3) Create the new configuration
    emca -config dbcontrol db

    and I did it successfully...but...

    I can not understand
    why nothing happens when i logged into its webpage. Its just ignoring my userid/password which is SYSTEM/MANAGER.

    help plsssssssssssssss.....thanks
    Last edited by jennifer2007; 02-26-2007 at 09:24 AM.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    You need sys/passord as sysdba

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    212
    I tried it and same thing happened dear....its seems looping on the logon page :(

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    630
    Any error message or anything?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width