nls_length_semantics
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: nls_length_semantics

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4

    nls_length_semantics

    Hi,

    I've created a DBlink on Oracle database 9.2.0.4 to access a remote Oracle database 9.2.0.7 but when I try to select a table the following message is displayed

    SQL> select * from owner.table1@ORCL;
    select * from owner.table1@ORCL
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-00096: invalid value BYTE for parameter nls_length_semantics, must be from
    among !?,
    ORA-02063: preceding line from ORCLDB01

    Please let me know what can I do to fix this issue.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chennai, INDIA
    Posts
    72

    Wink

    Hi,

    You can try ALTER SESSION SET NLS_LENGTH_SEMANTICS='CHAR';

    and try to execute.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    I tried your recommendation but I recieved this message:
    "SQL> alter session set nls_length_semantics='CHAR';
    ERROR:
    ORA-00096: invalid value CHAR for parameter nls_length_semantics, must be from
    among !?,
    "

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chennai, INDIA
    Posts
    72
    Hi,
    Could you post
    show parameter NLS_LENGTH_SEMANTICS;

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    Hi kamkan,

    Here is the value for the parmeter:

    SQL> show parameters nls_length_semantics

    NAME TYPE VALUE
    ------------------------------------ ----------- ------------------------------
    nls_length_semantics string BYTE
    SQL>

    Thanks in advance for your help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chennai, INDIA
    Posts
    72
    Hi,
    Is this issue specific to single table? If yes, could you describe the table and post the datatypes of the columns?
    Altering NLS_LENGTH_SEMANTICS will be helpful only if you create any new object. This may not be helpful in this case.
    Pls post the database characterset and national character set of the remote database.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    This issue happen with any table. The character set for both databases is:
    AL16UTF16

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width