Rep-0501 / Ora-12154
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Rep-0501 / Ora-12154

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    101

    Rep-0501 / Ora-12154

    I HAVE INSTALLED ORACLE DEVELOPER SUITE, AND TRYING TO CONNECT TO MY DATABASE THROUGH ORACLE FORM / AND REPORT BUILDER BOTH OF THEM !! BUT EVERYTIME I GET ERROR:
    REP-501 UNABLE TO CONNECT TO SPECIFIED DATABASE
    ORA-12154 TNS:COULD NOT RESOLVE THE CONNECT IDENTIFIER SPECIFIED,

    NOTE MY DATABASE IS UP AND RUNNING AND IM ABLE TO CONNECT TO IT THROUGH SQL*PLUS,
    BOTH THE DATABASE AND DEVELOPER SUITE ARE INSTALLED ON THE SAME MACHINE,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    developer has its own tnsname file - you must modfy that

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    101
    ok its done, im connected,

    Can someone recommend me some well presented,easy and straight forward tutorial for oracle developer(form/report) and Discovery, im oracle dba and have good undrestanding of oracle back end but need to get use to those tools asap.
    Last edited by khoshtip_uk; 11-08-2006 at 06:18 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3
    hi! got the same problem here, but i dont know what i have to modify! plz help... thx

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    the tnsnames.ora file

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3
    yeap, but i don't know what to modify there, i have this:

    EXTPROC_CONNECTION_DATA =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = whatever) (PORT = 1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = PLSExtProc)
    )
    )

    thx!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    put in the entry for your database

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3
    DONE!!! thx man! i had N problems with this, got oracle enterprise 11g and developer suite 10g on VISTA =s now i only have the problem that everyone has with the error "the nmefwmi.exe stopped working adn was closed" gotta wait for an update... Thx again!!! at least have my DB connected!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1

    developer suite 1/3 connects

    The same tnsnames.ora thing is happening to me, sqlplus runs but not forms/reports

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    then change the tnsnames.ora for developer just like the others did

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width