DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Rman Recovery

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    374

    Rman Recovery

    Hi All
    I am testing Rman recovery process. I have created a tablespace, and a table that I nhave populated with 150 records.

    I took incr_0 backup (Full database backup)

    Dropped the table and invoked Rman to do the restore and the recovery.

    Recovery completed successfully with no error. When I went to look for the table I have dropped it was not there. why will rman recovery be successful and the table recovered not there? I expect to see the table I have been recovered there. Any idea or sugestion?

    RMAN> connect target /

    connected to target database: DEV9002 (DBID=3694154766)

    rman> sql "alter tablespace TRISTA offline immediate";

    run{
    allocate channel dev_0 type sbt_tape;
    allocate channel dev_1 type sbt_tape;
    restore tablespace TRISTA ;
    recover tablespace TRISTA delete archivelog;
    }

    RMAN> sql "alter tablespace TRISTA online";


    Starting recover at 06-OCT-06
    channel dev_0: starting incremental datafile backupset restore
    channel dev_0: specifying datafile(s) to restore from backup set
    destination for restore of datafile 00013: /dbs9200/data3/TRISTA1.dbf
    [Normal] From: OB2BAR_Oracle8@hpxndX2.srv.verzac.com "DEV9002" Time: 10/06/06 14:26:09
    Starting OB2BAR Restore: 05 hpxndX2.srv.verzac.com _DEV9002_incr_1.dbf // Oracle8


    [Normal] From: OB2BAR_Oracle8@hpxndX2.srv.verzac.com "dbs9200" Time: 10/06/06 14:26:10
    Completed OB2BAR Restore: 05 hpxndX2.srv.verzac.com :hpxndX2_dbs9200_incr_1.dbf // Oracle8


    channel dev_0: restored backup piece 1
    piece handle=hpxndX2_dbs9200_incr_1.dbf tag=TAG20061006T130357 params=NULL
    channel dev_0: restore complete

    starting media recovery
    media recovery complete

    Finished recover at 06-OCT-06
    released channel: dev_1
    released channel: dev_0

    RMAN> sql "alter tablespace TRISTA online";

    sql statement: alter tablespace TRISTA online

    RMAN>
    Last edited by Ablakios; 10-09-2006 at 03:05 PM.
    Arsene Lupain
    The lie takes the elevator, the truth takes the staircase but ends up catching up with the lie.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,492

    Cool


    You need to do a point-in-time recovery.
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    374
    Thank you I will try that and let you know.
    Thanks
    Arsene Lupain
    The lie takes the elevator, the truth takes the staircase but ends up catching up with the lie.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,334
    the reason it wasnty there is because you restored and recovered right up until the point you stopped, so the table was dropped again

    you cant put a single tablespace back in time like that

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    374
    Hi all

    Thanks for your response. So refering to your comment how can I correct that? Can you show me the command?
    I have tried to recover the tablespace to a point in time and getting the "Auxilliary database error" Where is the auxilliary database? I think this should be the Target.

    Recovery Manager complete.
    hpxndx2:/home/oracledb > rman catalog dvrman/password@DEV9002.gplrmand

    Recovery Manager: Release 9.2.0.5.0 - 64bit Production

    Copyright (c) 1995, 2002, Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.

    connected to recovery catalog database

    RMAN> connect target /

    connected to target database: DBS9I2 (DBID=3053171798)

    RMAN> run {
    allocate clone channel dev1 type 'SBT_TAPE';
    recover tablespace TRISTA until time 'oct 09 2006 09:00:00';
    }

    RMAN-00571: ========================================
    RMAN-00569: == ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS RMAN-00571: ========================================
    RMAN-03002: failure of allocate command at 10/10/2006 08:59:51
    RMAN-06174: not connected to auxiliary database

    RMAN>
    Arsene Lupain
    The lie takes the elevator, the truth takes the staircase but ends up catching up with the lie.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Code:
    allocate channel dev1 type 'SBT_TAPE';
    CLONE not required. Before start read the about RMAN basics. I don't think you can do the things without understanding.

    http://download-uk.oracle.com/docs/c....htm#sthref651
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    374

    Rman Recovery

    Thomas
    Thanks for your quick response. Eventhough I took off the "clone" clause and simply allocated one chanel, I am still getting this "Not connected to the Auxilliary database" error.
    Where and how to connect the auxilliary database?
    Arsene Lupain
    The lie takes the elevator, the truth takes the staircase but ends up catching up with the lie.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Code:
    RUN
    {
      allocate channel dev1 type 'SBT_TAPE';
      SET UNTIL TIME 'Oct 8 2004 07:55:00'; 
      RESTORE CONTROLFILE ;
      ALTER DATABASE MOUNT; 
      RESTORE DATABASE;
      RECOVER DATABASE;
    }
    You can't recover just tablespace in Point-In_time_recovery. You need to restore complete database and recover. No PARMS for SBT_TAPE? Where is your backups - in tape or disk? I just given a simple script.
    Last edited by Thomasps; 10-10-2006 at 09:57 AM.
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    374

    Rman Recovery

    Thomas
    You said that:
    You can't recover just tablespace in Point-In_time_recovery. You need to restore complete database and recovery.


    The documentation says that you can perform tablespace point in time rfecovery using RMAN.
    You can also perform recovery at the following level.
    Database
    Tablespace
    Datafile
    and I wass trying to do the Tablespace point in time recovery.
    (TSPITR)
    Arsene Lupain
    The lie takes the elevator, the truth takes the staircase but ends up catching up with the lie.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,334
    you cant do it like that. You need to restore it to a different database and use transportable tablespaces.

    You cant restore a tablespace to a previous point in time in the same database, it just wont work

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width