RMAN Backup
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: RMAN Backup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    114

    RMAN Backup

    we are using 8i server

    RMAN> run {allocate channel c1 type disk format 'd:\oracle\backup';
    2> backup database;}

    RMAN-03022: compiling command: allocate
    RMAN-03026: error recovery releasing channel resources
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-03002: failure during compilation of command
    RMAN-03013: command type: allocate
    RMAN-06172: not connected to recovery catalog database

    It is very confusing for me why i am facing this error?
    can anybody help me in this regard?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    you havent connected to your catalog

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,478

    Thumbs down


    Or, you did not use the NOCATALOG option.
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    Yea, give us the rest of the script..
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    114

    RMAN Backups

    Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA

    Or, you did not use the NOCATALOG option.
    thanks for ur help it was really helpful for me
    The hint u provide and some other people resolve my problem
    thanx again

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northampton, England
    Posts
    612
    Quote Originally Posted by M.Shakeel Azeem
    some other people resolve my problem
    thanx again

    Would you like to share?
    Assistance is Futile...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    377
    Quote Originally Posted by M.Shakeel Azeem
    thanks for ur help it was really helpful for me
    The hint u provide and some other people resolve my problem
    thanx again
    Take all the answers and run !!!!

    I don't believe his format command was correct either.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width