DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Control file recovery, from RMAN

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    12
    Hello Brwn
    Sorry abt that. I checked the syntax and did the following.
    RMAN> RUN {
    2> ALLOCATE CHANNEL CH1 TYPE DISK;
    3> RESTORE CONTROLFILE FROM '/backup/prod/backup/full/rman_PROD_601742701_0jhtrnbd.bus';

    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00558: error encountered while parsing input commands
    RMAN-01005: syntax error: found "single-quoted-string": expecting one of: "tag"
    RMAN-01007: at line 3 column 26 file: standard input

    Btw, I have 6 rman backup files in that folder.. (from fullbackup), SHall i need to list all the files.. or 1 file is good?
    Thx
    C

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by waitecj
    "show all;" at the RMAN prompt.

    RMAN> show all;

    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00558: error encountered while parsing input commands
    RMAN-01005: syntax error: found "identifier": expecting one of: "allocate, alter, beginline, catalog, change, connect, create, crosscheck, configure, debug, delete, drop, exit, endinline, host, {, library, list, mount, open, print, register, release, replace, report, renormalize, reset, resync, rman, rpct"
    RMAN-01008: the bad identifier was: show
    RMAN-01007: at line 1 column 1 file: standard input

    --------------
    As this is version 8i. it works in 9i/10g..
    AM I right?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,492

    Cool


    It appears that for Oracle version 8i the procedure is different, please check the 8i manual, specially the section "To restore the control file to a new location without a recovery catalog"

    PS: Avoid this type of headache, use an RMAN catalog.
    Last edited by LKBrwn_DBA; 09-28-2006 at 02:37 PM.
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northampton, England
    Posts
    612
    Quote Originally Posted by greenchille
    RMAN-01005: syntax error: found "single-quoted-string": expecting one of: "tag"
    Apologies about the "show all" thing... I don't have any 8i databases around to test, but the documentation should clear that right up for you.

    Lets have a look at the script you use to backup the database and controlfile. Are you using tags to identify your backupsets?
    Assistance is Futile...

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    114
    Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA

    Just restore the cotrolfile:
    PHP Code:
    CONNECT TARGET /
    CONNECT CATALOG RMANCAT/FOOBAR@RMAN
    STARTUP FORCE NOMOUNT PFILE
    =$ORACLE_HOME/DBS/INIT.ORA
    RUN 
    {
     
    ALLOCATE CHANNEL CH1 TYPE DISK;
     [
    B]SET UNTIL SCN=1447485626;[/B]
     
    RESTORE CONTROLFILE;
     
    SQL ‘ALTER DATABASE MOUNT’;



    is Scn# optional or mandatory?
    if SCN# is mandatory then how can we determine the SCN No?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    114

    Control File Recovery

    Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA

    Just restore the cotrolfile:
    PHP Code:
    CONNECT TARGET /
    CONNECT CATALOG RMANCAT/FOOBAR@RMAN
    STARTUP FORCE NOMOUNT PFILE
    =$ORACLE_HOME/DBS/INIT.ORA
    RUN 
    {
     
    ALLOCATE CHANNEL CH1 TYPE DISK;
     
    SET UNTIL SCN=1447485626;
     
    RESTORE CONTROLFILE;
     
    SQL ‘ALTER DATABASE MOUNT’;


    But if the database structure(a tablespace has been added) has been changed since last backup of database
    is that an optimal solution to just restore the control file and DB will be in running state?
    or we have to recover database using backup control file?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,492

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by M.Shakeel Azeem
    But if the database structure(a tablespace has been added) has been changed since last backup of database
    is that an optimal solution to just restore the control file and DB will be in running state?
    or we have to recover database using backup control file?
    NO, the original question was "How do I restore controlfile from backup?".

    After restoring controlfile, there is need to restore database.

    Quote Originally Posted by M.Shakeel Azeem
    is Scn# optional or mandatory?
    if SCN# is mandatory then how can we determine the SCN No?
    Unless you have have ALL archive and redo logs available you need to do point-in-time recovery, which requires either an SCN or a timestamp.

    To locate SCN you would need the rman 'LOG' generated at the time of the backup --or-- from rman catalog if you have one.

    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width