Databse link on a table
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Databse link on a table

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    138

    Databse link on a table

    Is it possible to create a databse link on a table in a remote database?

    Lets say there is a table A in schema B in a remote databse DEV1.

    Is it possible to create a databse link poiting to table A from databse called DEV2? Is yes, how? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    Of course dear ,....create it just d same as u create an ordinary
    dblink on a separate local server using 'service.name' in tnsnames.ora

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    138
    Quote Originally Posted by yxez
    Of course dear,....create it just same as u create an ordinary
    dblink on a separate local server using 'service.name' in tnsnames.ora
    Is this what you are talking about?

    create databse link dl_dev1 connect to schema identified by password using 'DEV1';

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    yes pco....dev1 just points out to the remote ip address of the server

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    Quote Originally Posted by yxez
    yes pco....dev1 just points out to the remote ip address of the server
    well done for missing the point of the question, he wants to create a dblink to a specific table.

    Can do that - best option would be to create a synonym for a table@ and dont give the users access to the dblink in total

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    DC,USA
    Posts
    650
    Quote Originally Posted by davey23uk
    Can do that - best option would be to create a synonym for a table@ and dont give the users access to the dblink in total
    Davey is double right, also you can restrict the users from what DML's they can use on the table.

    On security side, giving access to dblink in total, have full access to all the objects in that schema may be fatal.
    "What is past is PROLOGUE"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    oh pco is already aware of that , coz he knew how to create dblinks
    locally...what he is after is if it works on remote too....don't u pico?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width