OEM Login Issue
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: OEM Login Issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    8

    OEM Login Issue

    I am an instructor for a local College of Technology. I am supporting Oracle 10g release 2. I created a database some time ago for one of my classes. All went well and worked correctly. Recently, I added another database using the DBCA. Now, I cannot access the OEM attached to the database I first created. When I try to login I get an error message stating: "The application requires more database privileges than you have currently been granted. Click on Help to get more version specific information." I have tried to login as sys, and system. When I try to login in as sysman I receive the error message: "ORA-28000: the account is locked". I never locked the account and I had been able to access the OEM prior to this point. I can still access the database via SQL Plus -- but I need the OEM. Can anybody help me? What went wrong? I can access the OEM for the new database I added.

    Thank you for your help.

    Cindy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    377
    What version of OEM are you using?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    8
    10g

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    8
    My server was rebooted. When the server came back up, I was able to get into the OEM. However, my database was down. Upon restart it opened - but would not start. My listener is up, my agent connection to the instance is down.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    377
    Actually, by version I meant if you are using DB Console of OEM or the OEM Java Console. I'll assume you are talking about the DB Console? Given that, when you created the new database with DBCA it probably didn't assign a new port for the new database. If not, you should set the ORACLE_SID and the run:

    Code:
    emca -reconfig ports -DBCONTROL_HTTP_PORT <new_port#>

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    8
    Thank you - I'll give it a try.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    8
    Before I reconfig the port, I have a question.

    I am using the DB console and I am in the Windows environment. When I open the Database control for my original database, the DB console is displayed using the following URL: host.domain:5500/em What the DB console tells me is my listener is up but my agent connection to the instance is down.

    When I open the Database control for my new database, the DB console is displayed using the following URL: host.domain:1158/em. I am able to log into the OEM for this database.

    Doesn't that mean that my new database was indeed assigned a new port and that port was 1158?

    Cindy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    377
    That's correct Cindy. If OEM seems to show the incorrect status of components, you may want to ensure that the hostname is getting resolved correctly. If you tried http://ipaddress:1158/em and it shows the correct status, then you may want to add the hostname into the local hosts file or ensure DNS is resolving the name correctly.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    335
    Instructor or the instructee?!?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    8
    ebrian -- thank you for your help. I really appreciate it.

    bazza -- aren't we all an instructee at some time in this game?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width