Tnsnames
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Tnsnames

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1

    Tnsnames

    Hi
    Can any one help me to configure tnsnames so that i can connect to the database through forms and reports.Awaiting for replies

    thanking a lot

    Regards
    Rajendra

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    well what have you got so far?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    just run the net manager friend

  4. #4
    Can you get to it through sqlplus?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9
    For Forms/Report there is registry entry (in case of windows os) which specifies the location of TNSNames file. Check if you have required entry in that file or not.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    care to enlighten everyone with what that registry entry is called and where it is located?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9
    Exactly I don't remember the exact resistry key name, but one can see it under Oracle home and specifically Forms related entries.

    Long back I was working on Forms when I encounter similar problem and discoved that Forms is refering to some other location for the TNS file.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Chester, England.
    Posts
    818
    Quote Originally Posted by davey23uk
    care to enlighten everyone with what that registry entry is called and where it is located?
    He may mean ENVIRONMENT VARIABLE...

    TNS_ADMIN perhaps?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width