temp file
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: temp file

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    89

    temp file

    we are running on oracle 9.2.0.6 are working on disaster recovery. as per plan we only copy over datafiles,redo,undo,controls ..except temp. when we bring up dr site up and query v$tempfile its showing all the temp files but it doesn't exist at the O.S level. why temp tablespace already pointing to those temp files?????

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    259
    They exist because they were not dropped from the database.

    You have 2 choices.
    1. copy the temp files over with all the other datafiles.
    2. Drop them and recreate. (one of the few cases where offline drop is OK ).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    259
    If this is a DR site, then what happens in the case of a disaster at the primary(say loss of power or worse (fire/water damage)? You won't be able to do the copy.

    True disaster recover involves setting up replication (www.ixionsoftware.com), Data guard ( some data loss will be encountered). Advance Replication, Streams etc.. Each has its own advantages and disadvantages.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    why would data loss be encountered with data guard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    259
    Depends upon the mode. Either physical or delayed logical.

    But the more highly available modes where the logs are written synchronously, typically don't perform well. Hence not used or are disabled after observing performance. Then your back down to sending archived logs. Thus data loss of up to the capacity of your online redo logs. And possibly then some, since you may still be in process of moving the last archive log at the point of failure.

    Data guard, is data protection. If the loss is acceptable then go for it.

    It all boils down to how much data loss is acceptable. If its zero (0) then your basically stuck with synchronous writing of the redo log and poor performance. If some loss is acceptable then you have some options.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    just add a temp file to the temp ts...straight out of the dg guide....
    Add a new temporary file, for example:

    SQL> ALTER TABLESPACE TEMP ADD TEMPFILE
    2> '/disk1/oracle/oradata/payroll/standby/temp01.dbf'
    3> SIZE 40M REUSE;
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    Can i still add a temp without dropping the original non-existent ones?
    By the ways, redo TS also get so much big like TEMP, is it a good
    practice or a must to shrink it before copying the files to the DR
    sites?


    Thanks all

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Quote Originally Posted by yxez
    Can i still add a temp without dropping the original non-existent ones?
    By the ways, redo TS also get so much big like TEMP, is it a good
    practice or a must to shrink it before copying the files to the DR
    sites?


    Thanks all
    what do you mean by redo TS?
    ---------------

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3
    If you won't drop old Tempfile , it will still give error

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    467

    Thumbs up

    Tempfiles are tempfiles, they are not used for recovery, hence not necessary for a backup.
    The information of these tempfiles are still there in the data dictionary, so all you need to do is add the respective tempfiles (if the filesystems are the same on your DR ) or just drop and add new ones,
    Creating a tempfile is very fast unlike datafiles, since they're sparse.


    Regards
    Vinit
    Vinit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width