10g to 9i?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: 10g to 9i?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2

    10g to 9i?

    Hi Friends,

    We made the mistake of using our 10g instance for some serious data entry and found our client is on 9i and has no intentions of upgrading. I was able to search the net and find it is possible to use a dmp from 10g to 9i, however the method using a 9i exp.exe file in 10g to create the correct binary dump has failed. Does anyone know how else this is possible?

    Thanks a lot
    Greg


    "It is difficult to free fools from the chains they revere".
    -Voltaire

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    yes, you use the 9i exp against the 10g database - if you are having issues with doing them post them specifically

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    hi friend, u can use dblinks to copy data to 9i or spool to .csv and load it to 9i

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    DC,USA
    Posts
    650
    10g data > flat file > sql loader, dump in 9i.

    Otherwise post your errors.....
    "What is past is PROLOGUE"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    259
    Quote Originally Posted by dbasan
    10g data > flat file > sql loader, dump in 9i.
    Flat file creation is easy with, IxUnload: see www.ixionsoftware.com

    Then use sqldr on your 9i system to reload the data. For large amounts of data, sql Loader (direct) is faster.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Quote Originally Posted by ixion
    Flat file creation is easy with, IxUnload: see www.ixionsoftware.com
    It might be easier, but it's also more expensive, I'd say.

    I wonder, why after the most elegant, most cost effective and most "native" solution has allready been proposed (i.e. davey23uk's suggestion to use 9i exp utility for export from 10g database and then 9i imp to imort into 9i database), new and new "smart" suggestions keep popping up.....

    But hey, why do it simple and efficient when you can do it complicated and convoluted....
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    yeah Jurij...its funny they are just a variation to my suggestion.
    Anyways what u think is simple may look complicated to others
    and vice versa

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vadodara, India
    Posts
    249
    davey23uk is right

    I have the same scenario.

    I have installed oracle 9i client on one of my machine and tacking export of 10g using 9i exp file.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    259
    Quote Originally Posted by jmodic
    It might be easier, but it's also more expensive, I'd say.
    More Expensive is a relative term wouldn't you say?

    In this case I'd certainly use a dblink.. simple and easy for small data sets. I was mainly responding to dbasans post about a "flat file".

    Export/import is fine for "small" data. But when it comes to large data loading nothing beats sqlldr VAR formatted data. Thats where this product fits nicely (sqlplus won't be able to create that type of file).

    regards.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    with gfgst2's case, i dnt think the db has grown huge. So I still go with exp/imp using 9i. If you see error like statistics related, just ignore it.
    ---------------

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width